4 Qwips to Help You Fight the Summer Office Blues

Amanda
QwipIt Stories
Published in
2 min readJun 2, 2016

--

I know that this is a short week. But dang! I cannot shove down the feelings that I have right now. The feeling that I’m missing something by being cooped up in this office. The feeling that I should be wearing no shoes or sun glasses, and drinking something cold in the sun.

*sigh*

Working in an office during the summer is hard. It makes me restless. But, maybe a little bit of office humor will help smother these feelings down so that I can actually, ya know, work.

First, let’s talk about elevators. They’re dark, smelly little rooms with terrible music. People continually shifting around and trying to not make eye contact. It’s the worst.

Next, it seems like summer always has a lot of turnover. People move towns. They move jobs. They move out of my department. Then a new person moves in to replace my old coworker. They try to mimic the work, but of course, put they’re own creative spin to it. I just want to shout… something like this:

Then my coworker family is discombobulated after the coming and goings of old and new. Heck, one time we had the “hugger.” This guy just wanted to hug everyone when we had a good review. No matter how many times I’d try to preemptively high five him, I’d be smothered in his hug. Gross. No hugging at work, please.

Lastly, it’s summer and I just want to take back-to-back vacations (to drink ice water in the sun of course). But of course, I get denied. The first time my boss denied me, she was nice about it. The second time she was all… you can’t just vacation all summer long Amanda. Third time was a charm. I’m pretty sure she just yelled “NO!” as soon as that paper entered her office.

I have high hopes though. That was last summer. This is this summer. This summer I’ll be approved. Or, I’ll just try to move my desk next to the window so I can stare longingly out of it. Either way, I’m going to try.

Because summer is a fleeting moment. (Unless you’re stuck in a cube in the middle of the floor; then there’s no hope for you my friend. You just need to watch funny qwips all day.)

Want to more humor to help you through the summer?

Make a qwip
Follow us on Twitter
Like us on Facebook and Instagram
Subscribe to our Subreddit

--

--