Will Streaming and COVID Kill Movie Theaters? Or Will it Make Them Better?

Michael Minardi
The Spooky Hallway
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2021

Last month, Warner Bros. announced that all of their new movies in 2021 will be released in theaters and on HBO Max at the same time. Their catalog includes films like Dune, The Suicide Squad, The Matrix 4, along with several other blockbuster features. Disney also rolled out a laundry list of new content that will be available on Disney+ in 2021, including both movies and shows from the Marvel Cinematic Universe and the Star Wars franchise.

Needless to say, streaming is king. That’s great news for film lovers and binge watchers, because movies and TV shows will be more accessible now than ever. But what does that mean for the future of movie watching? Will there come a day when we watch all new releases from the comfort of our own couches? Is this the end of the movie theater business as we know it?

Yes, and no. The population of moviegoers has been declining for years, and the growth of streaming services will only expedite that decline. Truth be told, most people just don’t want to spend $20+ on a movie they’ll be able to watch for free in a few months. That definitely resonates with me. For a long time (pre-pandemic), I wouldn’t visit a movie theater unless there was something playing that I was dying to see in theaters (e.g. anything from Chris Nolan or Marvel). Why would I spend money to watch a movie I might hate?

But after a while, I found myself going to movies more often. I didn’t go because it was the only place I could watch a movie. I went because I enjoyed the experience. I enjoyed the atmosphere, the popcorn, the reclining seats, and of course, the gigantic silver screen. It was a nice escape from the house, and even though I had to spend some money, I didn’t mind because I was enjoying the experience.

To me, that’s what movie theaters will need to focus on. The experience. Films won’t be enough to bring in customers anymore, because they can buy the same exact films without leaving their homes. With a captivating ambience, however, theaters could retain more customers. Maybe some theaters could throw up a little bit of old-fashioned decor from the 50s, 60s, and 70s. Some could beef up the place with amenities like heated seats, expanded dining services, etc. But throwing a bunch of rigid chairs in front of a big screen just won’t cut it anymore.

At a first glance, things might look grim for movie theaters. The growth of streaming compounded with the COVID-19 pandemic has wreaked havoc on the film industry. But as theater owners look for ways to survive, I’m confident they’ll begin to innovate and create incredible atmospheres in their venues, which will be able to attract casual moviegoers and frequent moviegoers alike.

As long as there are people who are looking to get out of the house and enjoy a night out, then there will be a market for unique and innovative movie theaters. And once the dust from this pandemic settles, those people certainly won’t be in short supply.

--

--