Montreal

Things I never saw before

Richard Lo
R Learning Journey
3 min readAug 17, 2018

--

When I got to Montreal, the first thing I did after I left my luggage at the hotel is that I went to a famous university in Montreal. It is McGill University.

McGill University

Maybe it isn’t as famous as some other Universities, like Stanford. But McGill University is still quite famous. When I got inside I found out that it was a huge university. There are many paths in there, there are benches and tables under the trees. The other buildings surrounded the school yard, and the birds are chirping and many other things are doing different activities. It was already evening then so I went to Old Port to have dinner, Old port is a beautiful place, it is where ships inbound. There was an obstacle course, a labyrinth and a zip line there, I wanted to go on the obstacle course and the labyrinth so badly, but it was too expensive. Then we went to the place where a ship was starting to inbound.

The ship that was about to inbound

I watched as the ship inbound, it looks spectacular! Then I went on a little bridge, we saw the amazing view of the Saint-Laurent River.

Saint-Laurent River

The River is beautiful, but it is also very dangerous, the river is flowing very quick, there is even some swirls. I saw a man’s shoe in the river too! After a beautiful evening, I took the metro back to our hotel.

The next day, I went to the Olympic Stadium.

The Olympic stadium

It was a triangle shaped stadium. It was cool that we have been to a place where Olympic athletes had compete with other athletes. But after the Olympics it was just an useless building.

There was a flight of stairs that looks like a picture of a torch if you stand on the bottom of the stairs. It was something I don’t see often.

When I went back to McGill University, I continued our visit in there. I went to a little museum in there. A museum? In a University? It was the first time I’d ever saw a museum in a University! There are some ancient animal bones and shells, although I don’t know if they were real.

There were many visitors that day, so I can’t see everything very well, because people were squishing me!

After two nights, I am leaving Montreal. I went to a farmer’s market after I checked out in the hotel. The Market was called Marche Jean-Talon.

I bought some strawberries to eat on the train. The next stop will be Toronto and I can’t wait to get there!

--

--