Joining Race

Bernard Chan
RaceCapital
Published in
2 min readFeb 23, 2022

Bernard Chan Joins the Race Capital Crew

I’m excited to announce that I have joined Race Capital on our quest to build the world’s best early stage infrastructure focused venture capital fund.

I started my own entrepreneurial journey as a founder of a fintech startup that was part of the YCombinator W20 batch. My family always encountered issues with FX and exchanging money while traveling between UK and European countries and I had always thought there needed to be a better way to support cross-border payments and commerce.

This experience is what ultimately led me down my own Web3 journey while I was studying at Imperial College surrounded by my classmates who were entranced with the decentralized future. What started as a hobby of simply buying Bitcoin from a vending machine quickly became a passion that I couldn’t stop. Over the next few years I found myself being an early user of various Web3 protocols, building NFTs to learn about how they work, bridging assets across multi-chain networks and learning about all of the various opportunities in Web3.

Race Capital’s philosophy of investing in companies that are building the core infrastructure and bridge between Web2 and Web3 is perfectly aligned with my passion. As a builder at heart, the unique expertise and approach of the team immediately resonated with me. I knew I had to be a part of it!

My primary focus at Race will be scouting and supporting early pre-seed/seed stage founders in both Web2 and Web3 space. I’ll be working closely with Alfred, Chris, Edith, Richard and the rest of the Race Capital team.

If you’re working on Web2 or Web3 infrastructure projects, or the in-betweens, please reach out at bernard@race.capital, on Telegram @bernard127, or Twitter @bernardchancl

We are just getting started and I can’t wait to see what we will continue to do together!

--

--