Frenzy over US$ 50 iBooks

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
1 min readAug 16, 2005

--

I heard about this in a TWiT episode a couple of weeks ago, and a link to this news article from NBC12 online was emailed to me by my colleague Mico.

I never imagined it would be violent.

But I guess this should be expected, if you were to sell Apple iBooks for 50 bucks apiece.

50 bucks? Wow.

I guess the County administration should have just distributed the 1,000 or so units among its residents.

But according to The Unofficial Apple Weblog, you may not necessarily be able to bag a good deal, since the iBooks are lower-end models, and have been used and abused by high school students for over a year.

But hey, US$50 for an iBook? If I get a defective unit, I’d still

get my money’s worth even in the parts I could salvage. In fact,

US$50 for any decent, running notebook is a sweet deal.

I wonder if something like this can ever happen in the

Philippines. Most likely not, because here, it’s the school

system itself that needs help from Government and the citizenry when it

comes to I.T. matters.

Tags:

and internet technology the

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac