Interviewed/Featured on Entrepreneur Magazine and PC Magazine Philippines

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
3 min readNov 3, 2006

--

I got a pleasant surprise via SMS this evening. Gelo Ancheta texted me that I’ve been featured on the November issue of “Entrepreneur Magazine”:http://www.entrepreneur.com.ph (Philippines). I had actually been corresponding with contributor Justine Castelleon since late July, but I was able to send her my response to her interview questions only this late September. I was thinking the mag would no longer accommodate my interview since they already had a feature on _online consulting_ in the August issue.

So off I went to the Mini Stop convenience store just a block down our street (at 1:30 a.m.!) to get my own copy. True enough, it was there. The _Entrepreneur_ feature wasn’t as extensive as I expected though, and it was mostly focused on the online aspect of consultancy work instead of problogging.

I also took the opportunity to browse other magazines available, and I chanced upon Abe’s article about earning from blogs on PC Magazine. I saw a screenshot of a familiar website, and it turned out to be The J Spot!

How I wish I were one of the top 10 entrepreneurs of the year (and how I wish I were earning like them, too)!

Holiday tech guide: Buy Angelo a MacBook Pro!

Blog screenshots. Mine’s at the upper-right.

Some Excerpts

From Entrepreneur,

Online consultants target clients who are comfortable transacting information online … To put up a good blogsite (I have an aversion towards this term. I prefer to “blogs” or “weblogs” -Ed), you must first pick a domain name that’s memorable, short and easy to spell, and usually reflects your business purpose. Your site must contain your business portfolio and contact information … Your site should be easy to navigate with a good search function.

Word of mouth is still the best way to market this business, according to Racoma. This is done by linking to other sites and writing comments on other sites linking back to one’s own. “Signing up with website networks, communes, directories, or even advertising on other blogs or sites,” are also ways to advertise your online business, he says.

From PC Mag,

J. Angelo Racoma has been a fulltime problogger since January this year: “I get to experience a more flexible work/business arrangemet. Now, I have more time to explore options and opportunities that weren’t available to me before when I was working nine to five. I get to watch over the kids, too!”

That’s pretty much the meat of it — at least with regard to what was written about me. Go grab your own copies if you’d like to check out the other great reads. Unfortunately, neither mag puts up all of its printed content online. _Entrepreneur_ retails for PhP 125 while _PC Mag_ costs PhP 100.

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac