Keep your traffic violation tickets: LTO could scam you!

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
3 min readOct 24, 2005

--

Got this via email. Apparently, some employees of the Philippine Land Transportation Office, with all its computerization projects, have found a way to perpetrate yet another corrupt practice–this time in the light of having ICT facilities to aid their work.

The scheme basically involves the LTO personnel not deleting your violation from their databases after you pay the fine. You end up paying for your violation twice!

So keep your receipts!

And we thought computerization projects were designed to curb such practices!

If ever you get caught for traffic

violation, please keep the receipts for the penalty you paid until such time

that you renew your license again. With the 3-year renewal period of licenses

and the LTO’s computerization system, their personnel

may have developed a new racket.

This morning, I renewed my driver’s license. The LTO office in

Binan refused to renew it because they said I have an

outstanding traffic violation. They told me that I got caught for reckless

speeding in February 12,

2004 and I failed to settle it. They

showed me a computer printout to this effect. I infomed them that I already settled it, otherwise, I would

not have my license back since, it was confiscated.

They said I might have dealt with fixers

in taking it back. I told them that I never deal with fixers. I also

told them that if they acknowledged that I might have dealt with fixers then,

someone inside the LTO must also be involved since I was able to get my license

back. They said if I really settled it, then I should show them the

receipt and they would delete the entry in the computer — they said maybe they

just missed to delete it.

Of course, I have no receipt to show

them. That was almost two years ago.

<! —

D([“mb”,”
I never imagined this would happen rnso I never kept it.

rn

In the end, I ended paying up P1,250.00 more-P500.00 for the penalty and P750.00 for the rnnon-appearance to settle the violation.

rn

This is such a simple scheme but it rnworks. They accept your penalty when you claim your license but they don’t rndelete it from the computer. If you renew it they will claim you failed to rnsettle it. If you have the receipt to prove you did settle, they’ll just rnclaim there was an error. If you have no receipt, then you’ll just have to rnpay again. Please pass on to your subordinates who are also drivers out rnthere.

rnrn rnrnrn

rn

rn SPONSORED LINKSrn

rn

rn

rn

rn Philippine flowerrn

rn

rn “,1]

);

//–>

I never imagined this would happen

so I never kept it.

In the end, I ended paying up P1,250.00 more-P500.00 for the penalty and P750.00 for the

non-appearance to settle the violation.

This is such a simple scheme but it

works. They accept your penalty when you claim your license but they don’t

delete it from the computer. If you renew it they will claim you failed to

settle it. If you have the receipt to prove you did settle, they’ll just

claim there was an error. If you have no receipt, then you’ll just have to

pay again. Please pass on to your subordinates who are also drivers out

there.

Tags:

and government politics

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac