Looking for a Laptop

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
1 min readApr 18, 2008

--

Since my work involves all things new media, my wife suggested I get a new laptop as a backup device for those times when I need power and mobility. Apart from the Mac Mini I use as my main work machine, my two-year old Compaq V2000, and the Asus Eee I carry around almost anywhere, I do certainly think I need another one.

We’ve been eyeing several brands and models previously. And this included the new Acer Gemstone series. From experience, I wasn’t too keen with Acer laptops, given some (perceived) quality issues. I thought this would be fixed with the Gemstone. But some colleagues who have been using Acer Gemstone laptops say otherwise.

So we’re left with other brands. With a budget of PhP 50,000 or less (that’s about $1,200) I know the choices are a bit limited. We could get a Fujitsu or a Sony Vaio (usually costing PhP 100,000 plus) — expensive, but probably more durable and usable than others.

Any suggestions?

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac