New Home Office Setup

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2007

--

The in-laws recently bought a spiffy new desktop computer, and courtesy of the shop discounts, they also got me a desktop computer table. I’m not much of a desktop user (as I prefer to work on laptops), but my wife and kids use the desktop for documents, web and games. So I thought of reorganizing my home office to minimize the clutter and to help with the workflow.

Previously, all the computers were on one table, and that included the 17-inch CRT the desktop used. It was really cramped. And I tend to clutter my desk with documents, computer peripherals, wires and even used mugs and plates from snacks.

Here’s my new setup after assembling and installing the desktop computer table. It took me a couple of hours to assemble the thing (no easy task because of the cryptic instructions!).

My new home office setup

That’s my desk, sans the clutter. In a few hours the clutter will be back.

I know the elliptical table doesn’t exactly serve as a good office desk, but I had to make do with what I have. I know I have to buy a real desk pretty soon. At any rate, this used to be our dining table, and I folded the other half down, so I can set it up adjacent to the wall (but not directly against the wall, since the wall tends to get hot during daytime). I used to face the window, and I could easily glance sideward towards the TV. Now the TV is behind me (which will hopefully lessen the possibility of getting distracted when the kids are here watching).

Now that some space is freed up, and now that the desktop computer can be used without the table being so cramped, and now that I cannot glance toward the direction of the TV, I’m looking into boosting my productivity.

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac