Nokia Recalls BL-5C Batteries

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
1 min readAug 14, 2007

--

Nokia has recalled BL-5C batteries made by Matsushita due to risk of overheating or even explosion (which is not really unique to Nokia batteries, but is a risk when using Lithium Ion batteries). I immediately checked my phone’s battery when I read the Nokia press release. It’s a BL-5CA. Close enough, I thought, so I decided to check the serial number against the Nokia database.

Thankfully, this is the message I got:

Your battery is not among those manufactured by Matsushita between December 2005 and November 2006 and your battery will not be replaced.

Downside: I don’t get a new battery.

Upside: I can be confident I won’t burn my hands, ears or some other part of my body when using the phone.

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac