Posting via Smart 3G

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
1 min readNov 4, 2007

--

Got myself an LG KU250 for backup and mobile connectivity. Who can beat that — at PhP 6,000 (about US$ 136) you get a 3G-enabled phone that can connect via bluetooth or USB (USB cable is even bundled in!). And Smart prepaid lets me surf for PhP 10 per 30 minutes (flat rate), so I don’t have to worry about monthly fees or contracts.

My first problem was making it work on Ubuntu. Initially I was only able to use it with Windows, with the bundled PC connectivity suite. But that’s now solved with these configurations.

Here’s my current speedtest.net result:

Not bad for mobile internet. What’s great is that I was able to install Opera Mini so I have a more or less full-fledged browser on my phone.

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac