Remembering BBSes, Fidonet, and text-based online RPGs

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
1 min readOct 11, 2005

--

I consider myself to be an early adopter of tech. When the Internet was still young–at least in commercial and public-acceptance terms–I was connecting to the rest of the world thru Bulletin Board Systems (or BBSes). When phone calls were still the fad, I was sending netmail and echomail to people across the globe–or across the street, as the case may sometimes be.

I remember the joy of hearing the 2400 bps (yes, that’s 2.4 kilobits per second) modem handshaking, and the greyscale screen of my old 386-based laptop displaying the ASCII art, and the text-based role-playing network games.

Prepare yourself for a trip to memory lane! Read more at Pinoy.tech.blog.

Tags:

and internet technology the

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac