Review: Alcatel OneTouch 918N “Glory” Android Smartphone

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
1 min readJun 4, 2012

--

Alcatel has recently sent me a review unit of their entry-level One Touch 918N Android smartphone. Dubbed the “Glory,” this smartphone offers dual-SIM capability, which has been popular in the emerging markets. I posted my review on Tech Wire Asia, and here are some highlights.

Alcatel One Touch 918N Glory (copyright: J. Angelo Racoma)

Pros:

  • Rugged yet elegant rubberized finish
  • Better screen resolution and pixel density than other smartphones in this price range like the Samsung Galaxy Y
  • Dual SIM capability

Cons:

  • Slower processor speed than the Galaxy Y
  • Dual SIM capability is a bit limited (dual-standby only, and only SIM1 can access 3G and HSDPA)
  • Very limited accessories

The verdict: the Alcatel One Touch 918N Glory is a capable entry-level smartphone that’s a good buy for its PhP 5,699 price. I mostly like the screen size and resolution as compared to, say, the Samsung Galaxy. I don’t use dual SIM much, as I would rather use a basic mobile phone with long battery for my alternate SIMs, and running two SIM cards at the same time drans the battery quickly. But for me, the Glory is a good buy for a first-time Android user on a budget.

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac