Windows 7: Faster, Smaller, Better

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org
Published in
2 min readApr 7, 2010

--

Danbo (heart) Windows 7

photo credit: Mendhak

When I bought my Compaq B1200 about two years ago, I got an OEM copy of Windows Vista Home Premium with it. I knew Vista had bad reviews, especially with its huge system requirements and bloat. But my notebook could handle it, I thought. On my netbooks, I ran Windows XP (I even got a free downgrade from a Vista Business to XP Home from HP).

When Windows 7 had a free beta release, I didn’t bother to try it out. I thought I would only be troubling myself with having to install and reinstall, and un-install the software when the beta expired. Looking back, I think I should have taken my chances. I could only imagine how much productivity I lost due to a clunky XP or slow Vista interface.

Now I’ve upgraded all of my Windows-based computers to Windows 7, including my main workhorse (the B1200), an Asus EeePC 900 and my four-year-old Compaq V2617 I’m really beginning to appreciate Windows 7. It’s quick. It’s lightweight. It’s easy to install. It also has a markedly improved interface.

Still, being able to compare Vista with 7 makes one better appreciate the improvements, especially with the performance. The new way the taskbar shows applications can save time and clicks. Also, I particularly like how you can tweak application settings for compatibility with older Windows versions. This can be useful if your computer doesn’t have Windows 7-specific drivers, but you have drivers for XP or Vista.

Most comparisons and reviews would agree that Windows 7 performs better than Vista and XP in most instances. It’s what Windows 7 should have been, they say. Suddenly, I feel silly for having purchased Vista. MS should’ve had offered a free or cheaper upgrade program for Vista users.

At any rate, if you’re buying a new computer sometime soon, go for Windows 7. If you have an older computer (with at least 1 GB RAM and 8 GB of hard drive space) then it’s probably worth the upgrade.

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
racoma.org

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac