A Letter to Slime Time Live

Hunter Saylor
Rad or Bad
Published in
2 min readNov 20, 2017

Welcome to the weekly series: Love Letters to my Childhood. Today’s letter is to Slime Time Live that used to be on Nickelodeon.

Dear Slime Time Live,

Yooo! Man, how’s it been? I heard you weren’t around anymore and I can’t even begin to tell you how sad that makes me. I really loved you when I was little. I could always count on you to be on when I got home from school. I used to live down in the basement area, and it was like a mini-apartment. Coming home and sitting in my video game chair and turning on Slime Time Live (followed by 106 and Park) was the highlight of my day.

I remember when you guys had the pie contest where you wanted to see if you could break the record for most people getting pied in the face. I missed that episode, but I followed very closely to the commercials advertising it. I also remember wondering what the slime tasted like. One contestant on the show that I remember said that it tasted like chicken. I think she was just trying to be funny.

I would do anything to be slimed and hanging out with famous celebrities and pro BMX bikers. I remember the host being cool as hell. I thought he was Carson Daily or Thomas Ian Nicholas, he was in American Pie and Halloween: Resurrection. I always liked Thomas Ian Nicholas for some reason.

I wanted to be pied in the face. I don’t know what’s in those pies, I think it’s just whip cream, but I always thought they were whole pies, so imagine my excitement when I thought a world existed where you could be pied with a whole pie.

Looking at YouTube clips, this show looks like it was made by a person on a lot of cocaine. And I think I’m all the better for letting my brain consume this.

I love you, and you’ll always live on through my memories and at parties where someone is like, “Bro, remember Slime Time Live?”

Take care,

Hunter Saylor

--

--