The Intersection

Kaniya Samm
Radical Health
Published in
3 min readMay 14, 2020
151st & Fredrick Douglas, Harlem NY

Existing at “the intersection” is physically and metaphorically, provocative; even more so during our pandemic-tinged existence. “As-salāmu ʿalaykum my sista”. Across the street from me, the corner congregates almost like clockwork as they bless the ‘hood with daps, morning politics, and the occasional traditional Muslim greeting.

This is the reality of how a global pandemic is affecting the everyday lives of a Black community in New York City. I’m a Black woman originally from the Bay, and I work as a community activist in health equity. It’s funny: I KNOW not to go outside and I KNOW to practice social distancing. Yet, I find myself standing at that intersection of 151st and Fredrick Douglas every day. The view is breathtaking. I exalt in those morning greetings, as I walk with intention by the congregation whispering back, “Waʿalaykumu s-salam”. My Black, female, and “health tech” identities exist at this intersection from sun-up to sundown.

Every day at the intersection, members of our community are asked to choose between adhering to safe social distance practice or potentially losing the only social ties that keep them grounded and able to thrive in this city. In communities with rich oral traditions, where social networking and socializing are synonymous, can we reasonably expect people to practice social distancing, where face to face communication is their primary source of social interaction? Isn’t this part of what defines communities like mine? Communities that desperately need appropriate food and health resources. Communities that resist the effects of virus, politics, and historical oppression daily.

Kaniya Samm; Harlem, NY

I’m the product and community manager at Radical Health, working to launch a plainspoken, informative Coronavirus chatbot for use in Black and brown communities…both mine and those that look like mine.

I’m extremely fortunate. Working in health tech during the pandemic has afforded me the privilege of maintaining employment, safety, and security from the comfort of my home — and if we’re all being really honest, the comfort of my bed or couch, whichever is dubbed the “home office” for the day. It is a privilege that I do not take lightly. I try to use my role in health tech to bring awareness to inequities and address health disparities in the most radical way possible: using my presence in the ‘hood in my profession to co-create sustainable health justice in my local communities. In the time of “The Rona”, my intentions are even more heightened. Black communities across our nation have been disproportionately affected by the Coronavirus. BIPOC (Black Indigenous People of Color) communities in cities such as Chicago, Saint Louis, and New York are experiencing mortality rates between 60–70% while representing less than 30% of the city’s population.

With both structural violence and a virus adding to years of potential life lost in an incredibly rich and beautiful community of which I am a proud member. I embrace the narratives of my ‘hood and combine them with my voice, platform, and opportunities to create local and systemic change. I challenge you to do the same.

Not your average techy… huh 😉

--

--

Kaniya Samm
Radical Health

As a public health and technology professional I work to advance equity within healthcare access by facilitating community-based solution-focused conversations