A New Chapter Begins…

Michael Chard
RadicallyDifferent
Published in
3 min readMar 2, 2018
Radically Different

In 2007 I left university for Northern Alberta after having a Jim Carrey level existential crisis, that left me with the solid belief that the only thing that mattered was living in the moment. I can admit that for a while living that way had a certain philosophical air to it. I just feel I may have taken it a little too literally when Nietzsche wrote that, philosophy was a voluntary living in ice and high mountains. Over a decade later and I have moved back to that same university town, endeavouring to do the very thing I left to do in the first place; make it on my own as a writer.

I always knew if I was going to be a writer I would need to go out into the world. I believe in some way however, I always knew I would find my way back home. Call it nostalgia, or my roots, but perhaps it is simply a need to be back in the setting where my own stories were told.

Becoming a full time freelancer over the past year has had its challenges. Every day it feels as though I am just crossing five tasks off my to-do list, and writing ten new tasks to complete. When the logo was done, I switched to the website. Then, facebook, instagram. Here I am on medium. Next I want to make a YouTube page. I know it will probably never end, and yet with each passing project, it begins to feel more and more complete. Also there is a sense of reward knowing that every step of the way brings me closer to fully realizing my original goal. The goal of working for myself, on the projects I want to create.

With that on my mind, the challenges have never seemed too daunting. The dangerous feelings of doubt and resignation have not crept in. It has not been hard to wake up everyday and put in the hours when I know that I am building towards something I want to do. Instead, I think the hardest part was understanding the value of my skills. Realizing that when marketed correctly, I can make my own money, doing things I love to do.

Writing a story, animating, or editing video all are things that bring me enjoyment. Knowing that I can make a living exercising my creative side has only helped fuel my ambition. Each project allows me to craft something out of my imagination. So, to anyone looking to set out on their own, I would advise you to keep your eyes on the big picture. All the mundane tasks and obstacles will fall into place one after another, with dedication and perseverance. Never let a day spent reading over tax information, or learning about metadata make you want to give up. Each day is a new opportunity to cross a few more things off your never ending to-do list.

instagram.com/radicallydiff

--

--