Why Trump Will Win In 2020

Cameron Schettler
RadicallyDifferent
Published in
1 min readMar 16, 2018

This is not really a political post, it’s more just a gut feeling, Trump will win again in 2020 and it will be a record turnout.

Barring the unexpected running of Jay-Z and Beyonce as co-presidents, Trump will win the next election. Here’s why I feel that way, based on a story of my personal history.

When I first when to Trent university, in 2006 I was double majoring in politics and history, with an elective credit in Philosophy. The very first essay I was assigned was from Intro to Politics and it was on the topic of voter turnout. Bush had recently been re-elected with a then record turnout, and my teenage premise was that this was a response to how polarizing a figure Bush was. People felt so strongly that they would swing away from their preference of not voting or alternative voting into either supporting or opposing him, for better or worse.

The 2016 turnout has nothing on 2020, upon which hindsight will smile smugly, rather than kindly.

…to be continued

C

--

--