Things I Read and Loved: The Patient Experience

Anjali Arya
Radical + Logic
Published in
3 min readMar 23, 2018

I’ve come a long way since my student days. I used to be that student sitting in the library, dreading reading chapters for my courses. Now, I read for pleasure. Reading opens my mind up to creative thinking. As part of my job, it also provides me the knowledge I need to stay on top of industry trends.

I consider myself to be a slow reader. Though I’ve always loved the idea of reading, I had never been able to commit myself to it.

When I transitioned into a Product Marketing role I quickly realized that one of the core elements of my job description is “being in the know.” That meant reading. A lot of reading. But what better way to get that information than to read up on daily news, market trends, and interesting books that help your understanding of ideas, audience and concepts. Over the past few months I’ve read many articles and a few books that have been filled with inspiration and knowledge. I’ve also been fortunate enough to share some of the interesting articles I’ve come across occasionally on the RL Solution’s Resource Center.

Working in the healthcare industry, has exposed me to a lot of things are constantly changing. We read about it in the news, in publications, whitepapers and more. Recently, my focus has been on trends in digital health.

Patients are more proactive and want to be looked at as partners in their healthcare journey. Providers rely on technology to collect the vital information patients provide to deliver care. As healthcare changes, so does the expectation of how digital health can help provide solutions to the industry’s challenges.

The question is where can that change be made next? The following reads are just a sneak peak into the ways technology can help support quality care:

Improving Patient Care Through Technology

It’s no argument that technology can play a significant role in changing the future of healthcare. However, it’s not always easy getting the buy-in from leadership for that change. Technological changes aren’t just categorized as going “paperless” but can contribute to better reporting, effective communication efforts and enhanced patient experience. Patients are continuously advocating for the use of modern technology to make their health care experience better. Just like any change, technological advances although may streamline many processes face obstacles from various parties. Nevertheless, there is still a strong demand for it as we continue to improve the way healthcare is delivered.

Digital Technology to Engage Patients: Ensuring Access for All

Back in 2016, the American Telemedicine Association predicted that “the number of Americans receiving virtual medical care is forecast to double from 15 million in 2016 to 30 million in 2017”. We haven’t stopped there as the need for virtual care is growing. The future of healthcare will be more patient-centered and value-based care and as such healthcare should become more of a continuous experience that patients can access easily. Digital technology gives healthcare providers the opportunity bridge that gap.

Happy reading!

Anjali Arya is a Product Marketer at RL Solutions and a budding Medium blogger from Toronto, Canada. Have something interesting to share? or just curious about her work, follow her on LinkedIn, Medium and Twitter and start a conversation!

Originally published at resources.rlsolutions.com.

--

--

Anjali Arya
Radical + Logic

Customer Marketing Manager @Intelex. A “Curious Georgette” interested in experiential design, solution driven marketing, food and fitness.