Young Fathers’ Cocoa Sugar

Nick Devin
Radio Friendly
Published in
1 min readMar 22, 2018

I’ve never listened to Scottish band, Young Fathers before Cocoa Sugar, their latest album. Lead single In My View has been stuck in my head for days, it’s deep bass is catchy as hell as well as the soulful refrain. It’s a good mix of R&B, pop and hip-hop. And that is the case for all Cocoa Sugar, the album is a tight twelve songs that beautifully blend genres. I hear hip-hop, pop, funk, R&B, electronic and tribal music. The songs play with pop music expectations, but Young Fathers carefully and creatively mix elements of experimental music into the tracks. Many of the songs are only three minutes in length, but the band are still able to convey their ideas. Cocoa Sugar is one of the best albums of 2018.

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Listen to In My View, Turn, Lord, Wow, Border Girl, Toy.

--

--