Are you a wise King?

Annupriya Jadon
RadioactiveStuff
Published in
5 min readSep 26, 2020

Have you read my first article? No?? Seriously no??
C’mon check it out, its fun :P
Still don’t wanna read that?
Fine!! You can still read this one. :/

Well, If you have ever attended any spirituality or soul enlightenment related session, you might have encountered a situation where they ask you to ponder on this one question “Who are you?” And then they give you clues like Are you your mind? Are you your body? I happened to attend that class once in my life and I just ran out of that class. That was quite a heavy dose!!

Don’t be scared!! I am not going to give you any spiritual gyan here. I don’t have any either.

But I like the question, so let’s consider that — “Who are you?”
And suppose that you are a King of a powerful kingdom!! Hard to imagine?? You want to imagine yourself as a Queen?? Then switch to the female version of this article.

Coming back to our imagination, suppose you are a king of a powerful kingdom and to run the kingdom you have a great council of ministers to support you. These ministers keep an active eye on their department and report issues immediately to you, the King, the nano-moment they encounter it.

So, if a minister sees that the people are hard hit by floods, it will immediately report to you, the King and you will instruct to donate food and provide shelter to the needy. If some minister happens to know that the neighbouring kingdom is going to attack, it will suggest you, the King to prepare for the battle and you will instruct the army to be prepared. If some minister gets to know about the cool life-changing inventions your neighbouring kingdom is working on, it will suggest you, the King to start working on similar projects and you will instruct to invest in such cool futuristic projects so that your people don’t lag behind.

Amazed by the quick execution of our King??
Impressive you!!
You wanna be this king for real, Don’t you?? :P

Well!! Before you decide, let me just ask you some questions — What if the news which the minister got about the attack was not right. What if your kingdom doesn’t have sufficient people to work on the new inventions and neither you have sufficient funds. In some cases, like that donation one, this quick execution might be perfect, but this surely can’t be effective all the time.

Now do you still want to be this King??

Now, the smart King has decoded the hidden wise message from the above questions and started to take some time to analyse the situation before making the decisions. So, now when the news of the attack came, you asked the minister to gather more evidences around the attack news and see if the situation can be diffused diplomatically. Also, when the minister came to you to tell about those cool new inventions, you did your research and put it in the charter, so that it can be picked up when you have sufficient resources.

Hail to the wise King!!

Hold on to this thought, we will get back to it in a while.

In daily life, we make a lot of decisions and we feel a lot of emotions. If we are sad because someone said something bad to us, we might revert back with something bad for which we might later regret. In such situations, people usually advise “You should think before you act”. Whenever someone says to me “soch kr bolo thoda”, I reply back “kya sochna hai”. This isn’t funny I know, but when I said it for the first time, I have given it sufficient thought I guess.

Well, when I told my dad that I am gonna buy the latest iPhone, he asked me to give it a second thought to see if I really needed it. As per him, spending such a huge amount of money on a phone is a waste. I took some time and thought — “I have sufficient money, I like the new iPhone, it’s a status symbol as well, it’s a bit expensive though, but I want it badly”. So, I bought it. Happy me :D

Then one day, I thought, what does this “Think before you act” kind of philosophy actually mean. Let’s figure out what it means and how we can really THINK before acting.

Now, if I say that you really are a King. The King of your own world :P And those emotion characters which I talked about in my previous article (which I insisted you to read in the beginning and you dint) constitute your council of ministers. But this time, the council is a bit complex. There are some chief council ministers and then are the rest of the ministers. Now, what’s happened with me is that when I saw the new iPhone, my “Desire” minister went to my King, fantasised my King about the new iphone, and my King got tempted and instructed to buy it.

What were the other emotion ministers doing at that time?
Well!! Only the chief emotion ministers were there, when this idea was pitched in and most of them got lured with the thought of a new iPhone and tricked the King to buy it. You also need to realise that when these chief emotion ministers pitch in their ideas and suggestions, they attach all kind of good things about their idea to tempt the King and other ministers.

What would a wise King do? He would ask the “Desire” minister to hold on to the purchase, would call for a meeting with all the ministers, would see if they have to say something. Well this time, the futuristic minister might say that you have sufficient funds but you might lose your job soon due to the ongoing financial crisis and ask the King to see if he needs to save some money.

Now, I hope you understand how the “Desire” minister gets influenced by the eye catchy things around us and tries to tempt the King.

We all have grown with this notion in our head that we are identified by our emotions and that emotions define our character. But the truth is — You are not those emotion ministers. You are that King, that wise King. And You should identify yourself as that King, that higher consciousness that has a control over those emotions. Without this notion, we are just a King who is being tossed by those emotion ministers to fulfil their end.

But the problem is that it’s not simple to claim your rights and put control over those clever and authoritative emotion ministers. You have been manipulated by these emotion ministers since your childhood and you can’t claim back the control in a moment. You will have to consciously exercise this.

While making decisions in your day-to-day life, you will have to consciously trigger the King to take actions wisely. At times, you will feel that these overwhelming emotion ministers are taking back the control all over, but patience and consciousness is the key to go.

Here, we discussed about the “Desire” minister. The council is really big and shady and I have a lot to share about each minister. So, stay tuned for my upcoming articles in the “Under the reign of a Wise King” series.

Stay Radioactive !!

--

--