13 Weeks until first pitch at Hadlock Field

As we countdown to Opening Day, my favorite moments every Friday

The 2018 season will be my 14th as the play-by-play broadcaster for the Portland Sea Dogs and my 22nd in professional baseball. There is no doubt about it, working for the Sea Dogs is the best job I’ve ever had. So, my first favorite memory, is my first time calling a Sea Dogs game at Hadlock Field. In 2004, I was the lead broadcaster for the Erie SeaWolves, so I had experience calling four games in Maine.

Apri 7, 2005 — Opening Night at Hadlock Field. Portland versus the Norwich Navigators (Giants affiliate). Pitching Match-up: Jonathan Papelbon (we called him Jon back in ’05) against Alfredo Simon (255 MLB appearances)

The Sea Dogs beat the Navigators 4–2, behind 2 homers from Jared Sandberg (current Durham Bulls Manager). Papelbon worked six innings on five hits, two runs and seven strikeouts, earning his first Double-A win. Many of Red Sox nation might forget this, but Papelbon was a starter in the minor leagues.

2005 Opening Night lineup from my scorebook

Portland began the season 10–0, but for me, growing up in New England, joining the Sea Dogs was one of the best things to happen to me. I grew up in Ashland, Mass, just west of Boston, but my family often vacationed at York Beach. Maine always felt like home and there is so much to love about this state. That day was very emotional for me. Being closer to family, working for a Red Sox affiliate and living in one of the best places in the country. Next week, I’ll preview my second best moment. Thank you for reading!

View from my radio booth

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.