Bob Kipper on Gwynn, Pirates and Brian Johnson

With just a simple click, we can learn so much about what’s happening in the world. Earlier today, we lost Tony Gwynn, due to his battle with cancer. I remember Justin Masterson telling me how great of person Gwynn was as a person — Masterson played for Gwynn at San Diego State. My two players I really admired as a kid was Wade Boggs and Gwynn. There was always the talk about who was the better hitter, I think it’s hard to argue which once was actually better, and I think that conversation is a big waste of time. They both were great!

Sea Dogs Pitching Coach Bob Kipper joined me on the Pre-Game Show earlier today, and he’s just a sample of what he told me about Gwynn “The first time I faced him as a rookie, I threw him an 0–2 curveball and he ripped it to right field” we’ll have Part 1 tonight and Part 2 tomorrow. Gwynn went 10-for-22 (.455) with a homer, triple and double against Kip, without a strikeout.

The Sea Dogs are 3–1 on their 8-game roadtrip, which doesn’t conclude until June 20th. Sound confusing? It is a little. Portland and Altoona resume a suspended game from Peoples Natural Gas Field on June 11th on the 20th at Hadlock Field, before the opening of a four-game series against the Curve.

Johnson named Eastern League Pitcher of the Week

Pre-Game begins at 6:45 PM on 95.9/95.5 and the U.S. Cellular Sea Dogs Radio Network…Listen online at seadogs.com.

Pre-Game Interview: Bob Kipper

Sea Dogs: Roof 9, Marrero 6, Swihart 2, Coyle 4, Welch 3, De La Cruz 7, Brenly DH , Greenwell 8, Meneses 5, Couch RH (7–1, 2.49)

Erie: Johnson 8, Krizan 7, Travis 4, Moya 9, Cabrera 2, Jones 5, Westlake 3, Green DH, Machado 6, Ferrell RH (4–5, 4.73)

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.