Day 2 in the Fort: Game Recap/Aaron Bates AUDIO/Morning Update

The Portland Sea Dogs Facebook Page has photos from my Spring Training trip.

Game Recap: Sea Dogs defeated the New Britain Rock Cats 5–3 on Saturday afternoon at the Twins’ Complex. Pawtucket lost to Rochester 6–2. Portland had 13 hits, receiving homers from Bryce Brentz (1-for-3) and Jeremy Hazelbaker (3-for-5). Brentz clubbed a two-run homer in the third inning and Hazelbaker’s solo-shot led off the ninth. Bryce Brentz receiving congratulations from potential teammates in Portland this year — Reynaldo Rodriguez and Oscar Tejeda.

Oscar Tejeda drove in two runs, clocking a first inning double down the left-field line. Heiker Meneses had three hits, and scored twice. Anthony Ranaudo faced two batters, but apparently left the game with a non-arm injury. I saw him walking around the complex, and he looked fine. Marco Duarte and Jeremiah Bayer (Greenfield, Mass) finished out the game in relief. The minor league teams have a Camp Day on Sunday.

Interview with former Sea Dog Aaron Bates…one of the best guys you’ll ever meet [soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/40841015" iframe=”true” /]More about my morning….

What an amazing second day in Ft. Myers. My weekly talk show, the Saturday Morning Jab (96.3 FM in Portland, Maine), took place live from JetBlue Park. The Red Sox Media Relations’ Department set me up in one of the auxiliary broadcast booths, giving me a gorgeous view of the inaugural park. It was not surprising to see people lining up a 9:00 AM, looking for tickets for today’s game against the Phillies. That’s Red Sox Nation. It’s incredible.

Once again, I can’t say enough about how great the Red Sox media has been to me every time I’m in Ft. Myers. Brian McPherson of the

Providence Journal and Jon Rish (Red Sox Radio Network) were nice enough to join me on the show. The feeling of being on the air at 8 AM, looking out to a cathedral is hard to describe (and I talk for a living). During Red Sox batting practice, former Sea Dogs’ Manager Arnie Beyeler threw to Group 1, which included: Jacoby Ellsbury, Adrian Gonzalez, Dustin Pedroia and Kevin Youkilis. The Red Sox had a tough afternoon against the Phillies, including a rough start from Alfredo Aceves. This will make for some great sports talk radio on Monday.

First Report 7:45 AM

In about 35 minutes, my weekly talk show begins live from JetBlue Park at Fenway South. I’m very thankful to the Big Jab and the Red Sox for help making this possible. I can’t put into words how amazing this is. I’m sitting two booths down from the Red Sox radio booth. Show is live online at thebigjab.com or 96.3 FM in Portland, Maine. I’m hoping to land a few members of the Boston media as they trickle in this morning. Later today, I’ll be heading over to the Minnesota Twins complex with PawSox broadcaster Aaron Goldsmith, taking in the Double-A and Triple-A games. My interview goal today is former Sea Dogs’ Aaron Bates and Ray Chang.

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.