Day 5 in Ft. Myers…Afternoon Report

Final Score just in…Sea Dogs 6–2 over Montgomery (Rays affiliate) in Double-A exhibition action.

Today was one of those days I’ll be talking about for a while. After batting practice I was able to chat with Adrian Gonzalez and Bobby Valentine. Gonzalez recalled his days in Portland and Valentine actually remembered me from interviewing him at the Hot Stove Dinner. You never know, he’s met so many people.

There was plenty of drama before batting practice, as SS Jose Iglesias was optioned to Triple-A Pawtucket, making Mike Avilies the likely Opening Day starter. I talked to a few scouts today that said Iglesias is not ready to hit in the Major Leagues, and there’s no reason to hurt his development. With that being said, maybe we’ll the former Sea Dog down the road.

The great thing about working in professional baseball is the people you meet. First-Base coach Alex Ochoa spent the first couple of months in Portland during Iglesias’ professional debut. Both Red Sox Assistant Trainers (Masai Takahashi & Brad Pearson) worked in Portland.

I stayed back at the Red Sox Minor League complex to take some photos, and interview some former Sea Dogs. There is so much randomness that happens in life, and today certainly was random. I had lunch in the media room with Boston Globe legend Dan Shaugnessy and was on the air with Bob Lobel two hours later — very cool.

During the middle innings, I spent some time in the Red Sox control room, watching how they work. Thanks to Abbey Thelin of Red Sox TV Productions, for making it happen.

Tomorrow will be my last day in Fort Myers, and I’m hoping to watch some of the Sea Dogs and PawSox at JetBlue Park. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate this being here. It never gets old. My job is amazing, and I’m so lucky to work for the Sea Dogs. First class in so many ways.

Have a great night!

Mike (seadogsradio@gmail.com)

<iframe width=”420" height=”315" src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/drXENwcHNF8" frameborder=”0" allowfullscreen>

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.