Headed to Ft. Myers on St. Patty’s Day

Covering Sea Dogs and Red Sox Spring Training from March 17–23

Boston and Minnesota both train in Ft. Myers

Lucky! That’s a great word to use on this St. Patrick’s Day. I do use that a lot describing my job with the Portland Sea Dogs but I mean it. This week marks my 14th Spring Training and it never gets old. When I first started with the team in 2005, I couldn’t believe they sent their broadcaster to Spring Training. I had gone once before, as a member of the Kane County Cougars, enjoying a week in Arizona.

My mission this year is gather at least five interviews a day, for a total of 25 on the trip. I’m setting the bar high. If there’s anyone you are interested in, let me know and I’ll do my best to grab that person.

One aspect of Spring Training people don’t always know, the minor leaguers also play exhibition games. My main time down there is to cover those games and write up some notes and deliver video.

On Monday: The Sea Dogs and Pawtucket Red Sox host Tampa Bay’s Double-A and Triple-A affiliates at JetBlue Park. Boston is playing at Minnesota, which is just across town in Ft. Myers. I’ll have more tomorrow.

Last year I caught up with Jacoby Ellsbury in Tampa

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.