Let’s meet Logan Jordan!

We present our first edition of “Let’s Meet a Sea Dogs Gameday Employee”

1. How did you start with the Sea Dogs? I started with the Sea Dogs back in 2009 as a part-time employee in the food service division of employees. I worked from 2009 through the 2012 season and then returned on day crew last March 2018 and have been here ever since.

2. What jobs do you have here? I have many jobs with the Sea Dogs and do many different things at the stadium. My main job for the month before the season through the entire season is on day crew which is part of the food service division. Before the season starts on day crew we go through and clean the concession stands, make sure machines work, shovel, rake, chop ice, help put up signs around the ballpark pretty much a little of everything.

Once the season starts on day crew I come in with the rest of day crew anywhere between 5 to 10 hours before games and prep for games. Prep includes checking deliveries stocking all food, drinks, paper products in the correct area. Other things we do before the games are stock each individual stand up to par level so they have everything they need for each game. Other tasks for games can vary but some things include setting up the corporate corner or picnic area, setting up for a birthday party prepping food or whatever really needs to be done. Once it is about 2hrs before game time we all go to our assigned areas along with the rest of the food service staff that is working that game. We typically have an assigned area we work each game but I am a floater and worked a bunch of different areas last year. Last year my main spot was the brand new Nacho Cart serving Nachos in a dog bowl. I also was a grill cook in either the picnic area or the grill, stand assistant, and worked in the pizza area making pizzas with the other two guys in there too. I think I will be in the kitchen this year helping our chef, in the sky kitchen food for the skyboxes as well as players post-game meals are all cooked up there. I have worked a couple of times for different events last year and this offseason and hope to be up there more this year I really enjoy it.

Logan is a terrific person, so glad to have him around

When the game is over I typically help check stands to make sure they are clean up to standards before allowing the stand workers to leave for the night. Sometimes however my night isn’t over typically 2–3 times a homestand sometimes more I also work on night crew. On night crew a third party company comes in after every game and cleans the entire stadium from the seating bowl to the bathrooms, sky boxes pavilion and do a good job. My job on night crew is to take care of the bottle bins and make sure all the doors are unlocked for the cleaning crew. Once they are done it is my job making sure everything is locked down for the night which is really early morning. In the offseason, I help with projects as they come up in the concession stands but this past offseason I spent most of my time in the ticket office. In the ticket office, I learned how to sell tickets both over the phone and in person on the ticketing system. I also would help stuff envelopes and send out mailers, do data entry for sluggers reader challenge, sluggers brush challenge. It was cool to work in the ticket office and get to see a different area of the team and learn more about the business of baseball.

3. Where did you grew up and your thoughts on Maine? I grew up in Windham, ME. Overall I like Maine, I think it would be cool to move or travel somewhere else to see the country but I am happy here and most of my Fiancee’s family and mine live here. The one thing I hate about Maine is the cold not necessarily the snow but the cold is bad.

4. Favorite sport? My favorite sport by far is hockey. I love hockey, I love the fast-paced game and the physicality. I had season tickets at the Pirates for many years and now with the Mariners. I enjoy going to games because it allows me to get away from the real world a few hours with whoever goes we me for that game. I am very happy to have hockey back in Portland.

5. Dream Job? I think my dream job is something full-time sports that I can use my degree with. I honestly really like my job at the Sea Dogs and working in different areas for the team I learn so much. It used to be a play by play announcer for a sport which I would still love to do someday but getting to use my marketing degree with a team in any sport would be awesome as well.

6. High School and/or College attended? I went to Windham High School in Windham, ME. I was the football manager for all four years on the varsity team after high school I went to college at Central Connecticut State on a football scholarship to help film games and practices and anything else the team needed. I did that for one year before transferring back to Maine and finishing my degree in communication and minor in marketing at USM.

7. Favorite part of working with the Sea Dogs? My favorite part about working with the Sea Dogs is a tough question because there is so much to choose from. The one thing I have always liked though is every day is truly something different, yes we do some of the same stuff every game day or a few times a year but overall every day is always a little different and that’s the beauty of minor league sports every day is different and although we all work in different departments we all come together and the games go off without a hitch and the fans have a great time.

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.