Let’s meet Paul Coughlin!

The voice of Hadlock Field has become a staple at Sea Dogs games

1. How did you know about the opening for Public Address announcer?

One morning in October of 2012, a colleague with whom I had worked for more than a decade at Bonny Eagle High School, stepped into my classroom and tossed me a copy of the Portland Press Herald. The dog-eared page read Sea Dogs Seek New PA Announcer. “Hey Paulie,” he said, “This would be right up your alley!” I read that Dean Rogers, the only Sea Dogs announcer was retiring after nearly 20 years. I was fortunate to land it and I’ll be at Hadlock for as long as they’ll have me. Nerd Alert: as a kid, I used to bring a portable Panasonic tape recorder to Fenway Park, and I would record Sherm Feller during the games as he introduced players. I always wanted to do what he did. At night I would fall asleep listening to the tapes. I would love to have them now with John Kiley playing show tunes between innings and the crowd erupting at a great play!

2. Tell us a little bit about your day job?

For 16 years I have been teaching English at TLC, the Alternative Education program at Bonny Eagle High School. It is another aspect of my life for which I am grateful. I get to work with teens for whom the traditional high school setting and structure has not worked. In addition to teaching requisite academics, we volunteer in the community (eg. ARLGP) a few days per month, and we enjoy a couple of camping/hiking trips per year. It’s quite rewarding and fulfilling.

3. How many games did you attend at Hadlock Field before your gig?

My wife and I had been regularly attending Sea Dogs games since 1998. Haddock Field has always been a great place to see a game. I remember meeting Johnny Pesky at a game, signing his books. And as a lover of baseball, it was always fun to keep an eye on certain players and follow their trips to the big leagues. That fun increased exponentially when the Sea Dogs became affiliated with the Red Sox.

4. Gives us a little insight on what it’s like to be on the mic for a game?

“It’s showtime!” I hear that on employee radios as the front gates open, and there’s a lot of truth in it. I am a small part of a large group of professionals who take pride in presenting fans with their “Nine-inning vacations.” I see each home game as a dual show. The Sea Dogs are out on the field doing their best to win ballgames. They may be pitching 5 innings of 2-hit ball or driving a ball over the Maine Monster, yet at the same time, a team off the field is trying their best to entertain the fans. Ted and Jim are talented guys in the booth who creatively enable and enhance what I do. I’d be speechless without them. I always get a thrill of introducing the players, and I get to introduce festivities and games to the fans. With the exception of my wife, nobody is coming to a game to hear the PA Announcer, but much like the bass player in a rock band, if it was missing people would notice. And pre-game it’s always fun to talk Sea Dogs baseball with season-ticket holders.

Paul hard at work!

5. I know you’ve lived in California, tell us about that experience?

I tried my hand at stand-up comedy in Los Angeles. As a fiscal pursuit, it was far from a lucrative endeavor. It was, however, great practice for speaking in public and developing confidence. One upside of living in LA was attending Dodgers and Angels games. Fantastic ballparks and it seemed as though one of the clubs was always in town. Living in Los Angeles is the surest way to realize it’s a better place to visit. In truth, it is a fun place, but one must consider the age and marital status!

6. A few of your favorite players to wear a Sea Dogs uniform?

When I think of Sea Dogs finest, I always begin with Josh Beckett. He was the cornerstone of that 2001 club and had great seasons with the Marlins. It’s ironic and fortunate that he ultimately became a member of the Red Sox, as did Adrian Gonzalez. I really liked “Youk” and Kevin Millar, and I always pulled for Dustin Pedroia. He rarely got cheated at the plate. Among the more recent players, Mookie Betts, Christian Vazquez, Bogaerts, Benintendi and Devers. These are the guys I got to see regularly and it’s always fun to be an armchair scout and predict who will make it to the show.

7. You have a love for movies? how about sharing a few of your favorites?

My favorite films involving baseball? Easy: “Field of Dreams” and “Bang The Drum Slowly” (with a box of tissues handy), “Major League” and “Bull Durham” (with a ventilator handy). My numerical favorites are “42” and “61*” I feel I need to come clean here: I’m not a big fan of “The Natural” though Randy Newman’s score (for which he won an Oscar) is stirring. Also, I like “A League Of Their Own” and I have fond childhood memories of “Bad News Bears.”

I love movies: JAWS, Casablanca, Shawshank Redemption, The Sting, almost anything directed by Alfred Hitchcock, almost anything starring Michael Keaton. He has been one of my favorite actors since Night Shift (1982) and Mr. Mom (1983) all the way through Birdman (2014). I own every Jack Lemmon film, but I’m not one to shun the acting-challenged… I also own many Burt Reynolds films

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.