Meet my new assistant Dan Acheson

The great thing about my job is the people I work with. Each season, I’m privileged to have a new assistant. Below is Dan Acheson’s introduction to all of you. Enjoy!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Hey everybody!

Nice to meet you via the blogosphere. A special thanks to Mike Antonellis for letting me crash his domain for the 2012 season. My name is Dan Acheson and I will be Mike’s partner on the radio for the upcoming year and I couldn’t be more excited.

A little background about me: I hail from the small town of Sanbornton, NH — New England born and bred. After graduating high school, I attended Emerson College in Boston, MA earning a degree in Broadcast Journalism. During the summers of my junior and senior years, I was the Director of Broadcasting and Media Relations for the Sanford Mainers in the New England Collegiate Baseball League in Sanford, ME. The job was perfect. I learned a lot about the business, met some amazing people (including Mike and Sea Dogs’ Media Relations guru Chris Cameron), and realized that this was the field for me. In 2011, I took that passion to Daytona Beach where I was the Assistant Director of Broadcasting and Media Relations with the Daytona Cubs of the Florida State League alongside Robbie Aaron and Chad Seely. Talk about
an all-inclusive experience! Probably the most intense job I have ever held, but, again, it just fueled the fire within me and proved that this is what I want to do for a career. It didn’t hurt either that when the dust settled, the Daytona Cubs were the last team standing in the FSL and took home the championship. All in all, not a bad first season in professional baseball. Now I know it’s unreasonable to expect a championship every season, but one thing that is for sure is this year’s ride from start to finish will be just as exciting.

Thanks for welcoming me into your homes this season. I hope to bring you just as much enjoyment about baseball through my thoughts and words as I get from doing this for a living.

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.