My new broadcast parter

Once February hits, the juices get flowing to open up another exciting season on baseball. I’m very happy to add Matt McCarthy to the broadcast…What better way to learn more about Matt? Here’s his first blog post.

Hello Sea Dogs fans,

First of all, a big thank you to Mike Antonellis for allowing me to use his blog to introduce myself. My name is Matt McCarthy, and I will be Mike’s partner for the upcoming season. It is a true honor to be working for the Sea Dogs this season. Growing up in Carver, Massachusetts (the former cranberry capital of the world!), I am a lifelong Red Sox fan. The opportunity to work in baseball is exciting enough, but to work for a Red Sox affiliate makes what I do for a living that much more exhilarating. Coming to the ballpark every day does not seem like work.

In December, I graduated from Ithaca College in Ithaca, New York with a degree in Television-Radio. It was at Ithaca where I caught the radio bug working for our student-run station, WICB-FM (currently ranked third in the nation in Princeton Review’s college radio rankings, not that we like to brag or anything…). Working at WICB was one of the truly great experiences of my life. I was fortunate to be surrounded by many broadcasters who were not only extremely talented, but also excellent people. My time at Ithaca gave me the passion, and the desire, to pursue a career in broadcasting.

That desire continued to grow this past summer when I called games for the Bourne Braves of the Cape Cod Baseball League. I cannot say enough nice things about the Cape League; it would be hard to find an environment like it elsewhere in the country. It’s poetically Americana. There is just something special about the nation’s best college talent all coming to the quaint, small, Cape Cod towns to play baseball (some of the fields don’t even have lights). Calling games on the Cape and watching the future stars of baseball play every night was an unforgettable experience.

The truck has left for Fort Myers, and soon pitchers and catchers will be reporting. Baseball season is upon us once again. I look forward to seeing you at Hadlock Field this year, but on nights where you cannot make it to the ballpark, I look forward to you joining us on the Sea Dogs Radio Network. The 20th season of Sea Dogs baseball should be a memorable one, with a number of the Red Sox top prospects expected to see significant time in Portland. I’m so happy to be along for the ride, and I’m happy that you’ll be along for the ride as well. Stay warm, summer is just around the corner!

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.