On the call for the 2001 Hall of Fame Game

One of my favorite broadcasting memories

“How were you able to broadcast the 2001 Hall of Fame Game between the Milwaukee Brewers and Florida Marlins?” Well, it was simple, I asked. I was working for Clear Channel in Utica, New York, and I reached out to Jeff Idelson, we had lunch in Cooperstown and he responded with this.

I’ve always been hungry as a broadcaster, but also passionate about the organization I work for. This opportunity wasn’t just about me, it was about building the brand for the radio station I worked for. At the time, I was calling Utica Blue Sox games (I was their last broadcaster in team history, they moved to Aberdeen the next season), and arrived in Cooperstown very early that morning. I also had a game that night in Utica, about a 50-minute drive. This day will easily go down as one of the most memorable moments of my life.

Broadcasting Cooperstown with the Great Ed O’Brien
For those in radio, you can appreciate the radio log!

Reach out to me at mantonellis@pawsox.com

--

--

Michael Antonellis
Inside the Clubhouse with Mike Antonellis

In my 24th season as a play-by-play broadcaster in minor league baseball. Previous stops: Portland Sea Dogs, Erie, Kane County, Syracuse/Utica, and Potomac.