A DAY IN THE LIFE OF NEW YORK JAZZ GUITARIST TODD BORDONARO

Today, we’re shooting the breeze with JAZZ GUITARIST and COMPOSER, New Yorker Todd Bordonaro, who composes under the brand name TODD B. Todd uses JAZZ, BLUES, FUNK, ELECTRONICA and CHILL to craft his instrumental compositions, and the effect is mesmerising.

He’s a highly accomplished guitar player, and he’s fronted celebrated musicians such as American JAZZ and BLUES greats, DAVE BRUBECK and JAMES COTTON. He studied with renowned JAZZ teachers, PETER PRISCO and JACK WILKINS, and studied music at the University of Miami and Mannes School of Music. Todd writes music for FILM, TELEVISION, COMMERCIALS, and INFLUENCER VIDEOS. He’s also a multi-level guitar teacher.

Let’s talk to TODD B.

RADIOSPARX: Tell us about your day composing; from waking up to going to sleep and how your composing day pans out.

TODD B: Over the years, I’ve developed a routine and a consistent way in which I manage my time. This allows me the freedom to be productive and get the most out of each day. After breakfast, I check emails and then practice the guitar for one hour and the piano for half an hour. When that’s done, I’ll work on the latest track that I’m creating, mixing, producing.

By 11am I’m either swimming or working out in the gym, and then I’ll come back home and have a light lunch. The remainder of the afternoon is spent working on tracks.

After dinner, I’m either teaching guitar or working on tracks (especially if I have an upcoming deadline). To finish my day, I’ll either watch some TV or read.

RADIOSPARX: What technology and software do you use?

TODD B: For my DAW I use Reason (currently Reason 12). I have a variety of virtual instruments and synths including Kontakt (Native Instruments), DNA Labs, MPC Beats, Ozone 10, Mode Audio and Soundcells.

For hardware I use a Focusrite 8i6, Akai MPD 218, a couple of Novation Launchkeys, Focal Studio Monitors, a Line 6 Podxt and Pod Go, a Neumann TLM 102, 5 guitars and 1 bass. It’s a simple clean set-up, which is fast and easy to use.

RADIOSPARX: How do you get inspired to write music, and how does your song writing develop to the finished product?

TODD B: I get the most inspiration from listening to music in many different genres. I might hear a drum beat or bass line, or a chord progression I like. Anything that pops into my head, I sing or play it immediately and record on my iPhone.

When putting a track together, I’ll usually start with drums then guitar or keyboard and bass. After the rhythm section tracks are down, I’ll add melody lines, and any other tracks that the song requires. All the tracks I write are instrumentals. If I need vocals, I work with a couple of vocalists/topliners. I send them the instrumental mixes; they will add lyrics and vocals and send back to me for final mixing and mastering.

RADIOSPARX: What’s your favorite musical style/genre?

TODD B: I’m a trained JAZZ guitarist, but I love to move between different musical styles. With JAZZ guitar, you have so many options for compositions, so I’m perfectly at ease composing tracks that are FUNKY, that are imbued with BLUES, SOUL, LOUNGE and more.

I’m skilled at composing tracks that have that RETRO 80s and 90s feel, JAZZ, CHILL, HIP HOP, ROCK, TENSION and DRAMA genres. I also love composing tracks in the style of COCKTAIL JAZZ, SWING and BOSSA NOVA.

This is what is so nice about writing and producing music for production libraries; it allows me to compose in so many different genres. This really works for me, from a creative perspective and keeps things fresh and fun.

RADIOSPARX: Talk about how you approach the business side of your composing life.

TODD B: I think that networking is the key to success in this business. You have to let folks know that you’re out there. Do your research and take advantage of all opportunities that come your way. Show people that you’re easy to work with; fast, efficient, and able to produce what is required in a timely fashion.

I keep detailed spreadsheets of every track I create, which libraries it has been accepted to, and whether it’s exclusive or non-exclusive. I attend Industry events and try to meet as many folks as possible. I also promote myself on social media, post videos of me playing across the socials too, so people can hear me, and keep my website up to date.

CHECK OUT TODD B’s KIT

· Reason Studios — Reason 12

· Native Instruments, KONTAKT 7

· DNA Labs

· AKAI PRO MPC Beats

· iZotope Ozone 10

· Mode Audio

· Soundcells

· Focusrite Scarlett 8i6

· Akai MPD 218

· Novation Music Launchkey

· Focal Studio Monitors

· Line 6 POD xt

· Line 6 Pod Go

· Neumann TLM 102

· Five guitars

· One bass

Click on TODD B’s music page on RADIOSPARX.COM

Listen to him here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vqLSb2C4T2w&t=7s

Thank you Todd. We’re thrilled you’re part of the AUDIOSPARX.com and RADIOSPARX.com family.

AudioSparx, and its sister company RadioSparx, loves composers, singer-songwriters, producers, bands and solo artists, and we’ve built a global network comprising nearly 8000 of these talented artists, across 134 countries. We would love to know all our artists individually, find out what makes them tick, but due to our massive global coverage, that isn’t always possible. So, we’re focusing on our rising stars at AudioSparx and RadioSparx, asking them questions about their daily lives as composers in our ‘DAY-IN-THE-LIFE’ series. Follow us here on MEDIUM. We’ll be publishing this series once-a-week, interviewing as many of our amazing composers as we can. We think you’ll find their answers as fascinating and as inspiring as we do.

--

--

MERYANA & the team @ RADIOSPARX Music for Business
AudioSparx and RadioSparx

RADIOSPARX is a GLOBAL MUSIC-FOR-BUSINESS STREAMING PLATFORM, WITH CLIENTS IN OVER 100 COUNTRIES. Our Team write stories here for publication.