Failure, Joy, The Comparing Mind, and Fear

Follow-Up Reading from my Conversation with Undergrads

Khe Hy
RadReads
2 min readNov 7, 2016

--

I had the privilege of speaking with 40 Yale students this Saturday at the Careers, Life, and Yale Leadership Forum. I spoke about my personal and leadership journey, and the students asked amazing follow-up questions. Here are the links I shared with them.

On Avoiding Comparison with Peers

Money itself is not a source of joy, once basics are met

Remember that you’re a “Tribe of 1”

Daniel Kahneman’s research on how “emotional well-being” doesn’t increase beyond $75k/year

Research on: Intrinsic vs. Extrinsic goal orientation

Self-Judgement

Manage the ratio of self-love to self-criticism (75%/25%)

Failure

Carol Dweck’s book “Mindset” covers different approaches.

A great summary by Maria Popova:

Focusing on the “Journey” vs. the “Goal”

An amazing poem “The Station” by Robert Hastings:

Radical Candor

This is one of my favorite leadership concepts:

And the graphic:

Timeless wisdom from the Tao Te Ching

I highly recommend purchasing the Steven Mitchell translation

Khemaridh is the Creator of Rad Reads. Sign up to crush it every Saturday morning

--

--

Khe Hy
RadReads

CNN’s “Oprah for Millennials” + Bloomberg’s “Wall Street Guru.” I write about fear, ambition, and mortality. http://radreads.co/subscribe