Accordion Folds and Framing

Rae Kearney
Rae’s Book Design
3 min readDec 12, 2019

For the my first test, I took a few photos and printed them on their pre-decided materials. I wanted to get a feel for the book in my hands, and what it would be like for another person exploring these photographs first hand. I tried the accordion fold in full bleed, then a framed version with mylar. The framing really didn’t work with the mylar. The photos felt restricted, and downplayed. It reminded me of a personalized photo album which was not the feeling I wanted to evoke. The full bleed was better, but the mylar had such a ghostly and intriguing effect that I had to keep going with that material.

The second set of tests I did used the mylar, trying both a full bleed and a framed version. At this point I decided I was going to ditch the accordion fold and do a book made up of small booklets that had photos on the front and back. The idea behind this was to make a book you could set up as an exhibition. With that in mind, the full bleed didn’t give any room for these photos to breath. The framing created space and solitude for these photos to exist. The mylar was really hard to fold with ink on it also, so the other way was the clear choice.

--

--