Final 1.0

Rae Kearney
Rae’s Book Design
2 min readDec 12, 2019

In the end, I stitched my booklets with red silk thread to match the red Madeline seems to be drawn to in her photos. I tried different scales of the photos, but it just wasn’t working. I wanted a cleaner envelope that felt like it fit the content better. I was happy with the touches of Japanese paper that I used throughout and the binding turned out really well. The ghosted images worked in the light, but I feel like they need to be set up, and lit with really dramatic lighting to be fully appreciated.

Final 2.0

After this round, I tried to create a different envelope. I liked how my new envelope stacked the binded booklets, and showed off the red thread. I resized the images and included some I left our originally. I used negative space in two of my booklets that had series style photos or had a lot of colour saturation. I liked what this room did to the photos, while changing up the expectation that every booklet was the same.

--

--