Pedophilia Is Normalized in Our Culture (Stop Doing That!)

Boom Shikha
Rage Against the Patriarchy
6 min readNov 6, 2020

When I was younger, I lived in the Middle East, and I used to get catcalled all the time. I was only 13 at the time, but just developing breasts. I even had men pull out their penis and wave it about at me, and I used to wonder to myself, Hmm, what exactly do you want me, a child, to do here?

As I grew older, things didn’t get better. I was 16 when I got into university, as I skipped a bunch of grades in middle school. I was in Toronto by this time, and working a part-time job at the airport, while going to school full-time. The same thing happened at the airport. I looked young (even now I look young for my age), and even then, men would hit on me all the time.

I would think to myself, dude, it’s illegal for you to even think about having a sexual relationship with me, so back off.

As I got into my late teens, and early twenties, things didn’t change much. As I looked much younger for my age, men would always assume that I was in my teens, and then get disappointed when I told them I was older.

Again, I would wonder to myself, what is up with all of the men that I am meeting. Is it me that’s the problem or them?

It’s the Culture at Fault That Sexualizes Girls From a Young Age

There was a huge hoopla recently with a movie that Netflix released. It was because the girls in the movie were highly sexualized, called Cuties. I have not watched it (in fact, I haven’t watched a Hollywood movie or any TV in years now, because I can’t stand all of the subliminal sexual messaging in it).

I don’t know what the movie is all about. But the fact that Netflix is portraying the movie as a social commentary on the sexualization of girls while sexualizing the actresses in the movie, is quite ironic to me.

Either way, if you have seen any TV show in Hollywood or even any other film industry, you will see that as soon as a girl turns 14 or 15 (yes, she’s still a girl when she’s 16, not a young woman as a lot of idiots like to say), men start swarming around her, making sexual innuendoes. In fact, if you’ve seen any show, you’ll see that the girl starts wearing extremely revealing clothing, with cleavage and butt cracks, and this is all supposed to be okay.

In fact, it’s welcomed, because how else are they going to get all of those disgusting men to watch the show, if there weren’t some hot teenagers in there, flaunting their stuff.

Also, to reiterate, a 14-year-old boy is not labeled a man, just so people can sexualize them without feeling guilty about having sexual thoughts about a child. And the same applies to a girl. A 14-year-old girl is a girl, not a young woman — don’t call her a woman, so that you can feel better about sexualizing her because after all, she’s not a child anymore.

Women Become Invisible When They Get Older

As you can see in the YouTube comment screenshot that I took, this man with the moniker (he can’t use his real name because he can’t let the world know that he’s a pedophile), says openly that the only time women are prized is if they are from 17 years to 24 years old (see how he used the term women for a 17-year-old girl, she’s not a woman, she’s a girl, for god’s sake).

You’ll see someone (probably an idiotic man) gave him a thumbs up for his comment.

Great! Two pedophiliacs supporting each other and then we wonder why sex with children is growing so rapidly in the world. It’s because it’s normalized.

But men, according to him, are the prize. No matter what age they are. Ugh.

I can’t even tell you what a misogynistic, sexist, pedophiliac comment that is — it’s wrong on so many levels. I’m sure you can see it, and if you can’t, then you are the problem here.

I was watching this older women comedian recently and she’s brilliant. Charismatic, charming, and lights up the entire stage with her personality and presence. She did a little skit where she asked, “Can everyone see me? Are you sure??” When everyone said, yes, we can see you, she added, “Well, I am just making sure, because as you get older, a woman becomes invisible.”

That’s the sad thing about it all. Women have a brief period of time in which they are ‘prized’ as the idiot above said, and then they disappear — invisible to everyone, interrupted by everyone, and not considered to be there at all.

What’s the Point Here? Only Youth Matters, Yes.

Yes, in our culture, youth matters. But in the case of women, it’s particularly so.

Men can be in their 50s or 60s and still be a successful actor, in fact, there are many of them in Bollywood, disgustingly, playing in movies with women 30–40 years younger than them. They keep on aging and looking terrible, but because they are men, they can stay on. While the women, even if beautiful, even if perfect, have to leave as soon as they turn 35 because it’s over for them. Unless they want to start playing the role of a mother or a grandmother.

Well, fuck you to the men, who believe that women are only good when they are young and they are done as soon as they turn 25 or 30 or whatever that age might be.

I feel better and better as I age — I am glorious now. I can’t imagine how much more beautiful I am going to be, or how much better I am going to get. And if a man can’t see that, then that’s too bad for him. I’m so grateful to be the age I am and I wouldn’t want to go back to being 16 ever again. I shudder at the thought!

My peak didn’t end when I turned 25. I am at my peak now, you buffoonish old men.

Stop idealizing and normalizing sex with girls, and calling them young women to make yourself feel better. Stop normalizing pedophilia. You are sick in the head, and you need to realize that. Stop making it so that it’s okay for you to fantasize about girls and even have sexual relations with them. Stop all of it!!

--

--

Boom Shikha
Rage Against the Patriarchy

I am a writer, who writes because she needs to write, like she needs to breathe. For my science fiction and erotic novels, visit https://linktr.ee/boomshikha.