Say “manifest” one more time, I dare you.”

Dear Diary,

Brianna Bond
Rags to Bitches
2 min readFeb 8, 2018

--

Today on facebook I saw yet another apparently perfectly-developed (physically and mentally and spiritually) human telling everyone that in order to get everything they desire, all you have to do is manifest it!

Imagine my relief when I realized I don’t have to create, work, market, fine-tune, test, fail, or deliver real results anymore. If only someone had told me I could just happy-thoughts my desired bank account balance into existence!

I believe this “advice” is actively harmful to women entrepreneurs.

First of all, it is low-key another display of the “be more, but by being less, but do a little more, but not that” kind of Never Enough or Correct that we are already dished 24/7.

https://youtu.be/59nrQPo53xo

“Oh did you not get the new sales you need? Manifest harder, Brianna. Clearly you didn’t want it bad enough. Your mind’s eye is all cloudy and you must not truly believe you deserve success.”

You better manifest me someone to hold my earrings.

You don’t get to doubt my self-love because I screwed up a facebook ad campaign or some shit. We are already dealt guilt around the clock, and you want to add manufactured “you just didn’t take a hard enough positivity-dump” on top of that?

Secondly, this over-simplifies what it takes to make things happen and sets people up for failure. “I clearly saw what I wanted in my mind’s eye, but my business is still struggling!” Okay, great job manifesting but what did you actually do? Execution is key.

This is not to say that mindset doesn’t matter. Of course it does. You do have to believe that you can make it work. But. BUT! That’s not the end of the road for us working babes. It’s only the beginning.

Originally published at ragstobitch.es on February 8, 2018.

--

--