Happy mathematician

At Cyber Security Lab, NTU Singapore

(λx.x)eranga
Effectz.AI
4 min readJun 13, 2018

--

Bit about Me

If you are not interest to read this introduction part, no worries directly jump into the last section happy mathematician :)

Me as an Engineer

I’m woking as a senior engineer at PageroAB which is a Swedish company. I mainly involving with building highly scalable distributed systems in PageroAB. We are mainly using latest technologies and functional programming to build our systems. I have quite good experience with building these kind of software systems :)

Me as a Researcher

Apart from the work at PageroAB, I’m involving with some academic/research stuffs with SCoRe Lab at University of Colombo. I mainly dealing with two professors at the university, Dr Kasun de Zoysa and Dr Chamath Keppitiyagama

We mainly doing quite interesting researches and building some products based on that researches. Our main research areas are,

  1. Embedded systems
  2. IoT
  3. Distributed systems
  4. Cryptography
  5. Functional programming

Happy researches

Happy research on blockchain

Most recently I have been involved with a research work based on blockchain. With this research we have build highly scalable blockchain storage based on apache cassandra distributed database. We named it as zchaindb. zchaindb is an ideal blockchain storage for bigdata and it supports realtime transactions.

We followed microservices based architecture to built the zchaindb blockchain system. We have used golang, scala and haskell to program the services. Inter service communication happening via kafka. We have used cassandra as the blocks and transaction storage. All the services deployed as dockers. That is the abstract architecture of the storage :)

One good thing is that we have deployed zchaindb storage in Sri Lankan Bank. (They built their own electronic currency on top of zchaindb). We mainly handling double spends of the electronic transactions via zhcinadb blockchain storage.

Happy research at NTU

zchaindb research work got quite good international recognitions as well. One of the professor at Nanyang Technology University Singapore asked me to integrate the zchaindb storage for their research work. Now I moved to Cyber Security Lab at NTU to do that work. With this research work I mainly involving with,

  1. Improving the performance of zchaindb
  2. Designing BFT consensus algorithm for private blockchains
  3. Designing functional programming based smart contract language
  4. Writing some research publications

Happy Academics

Academic life

Most of the people at Cyber Security Lab are doing theoretical stuffs. Design cryptography algorithms, Prototypes, Proof of concepts, Writing research papers etc. Most of them don’t have experience in software industry and technologies(how to implement stuffs). Since I came from the industrial background some professors asking some help from me to design(in architecture level) their systems.

Happy mathematician

Today I met a mathematician at Cyber Security Lab, NTU. I did not talk with such theoretical person previously. Today only I knew how mathematician looks like :). He is a Chinese professor who implementing new cryptography algorithms to secure the data on cloud. That system uses homomorphic encryption and some other SECRET ALGORITHMS :). He described the thing he wanna do with his new cryptography platform. The architecture is simple, but he doesn’t know how to do it and what are the technologies he wanna use. That’s the nature of academic people :)

So, according to the requirement I have proposed two designs for his cryptography platform. Those designs are based on microservices architecture with kafka. He impressed about the designs and said, ok now I need to select one design from them. How you gonna select a design? I asked from him. Only thing I know about selecting/finalizing a design is google :D.

Go to google, find the details about the technologies, read the documentations, ask from community about the best practices and standards, in worst case reading some research papers(yes I know it’s not quite usual for most of the developers, but I’m doing that sometimes). Finally come up with a GREATEST DESIGN. As software people, that’s what we think about our design :D

I was expecting that kind of answer from him. But the answer I have got is totally different. I believe non of the software people would expect that kind of answer. This is the answer I have got from him.

I will mathematically prove the two designs and choose the best one. As a mathematicians we always prove the things we are doing and we like to do that

What, mathematically proving software design? I was shocked. Are you sure you talking about software design? I asked from him.

After sometimes I got to know that, he is one of the best mathematician in chain. No more comments and thank you :D

--

--