How Travelling Enriches Your Life?

Rahul Arora
Rahul Arora
Published in
3 min readApr 23, 2021
Image Credit-Rei

Travel is my therapy and my teacher and the best one I have had yet. Being an awkward teen, somewhere in between an extrovert and introvert, Travel made me crawl out of my shell. I am still very awkward, for an adult it’s just that travel made me feel comfortable about who am I am.

It’s like I spend this entire time looking at the world through a peephole and then I started traveling, and it was like seeing new colors!

Like before the exposure travel got me, in conversations I’d be nervous and continuously contemplating a witty reply, but now I am more open. I listen. I inter-act. I laugh and share because I got over the fact that I am not perfect. Traveling to beaten paths and coming across so many people and different ways of life, got me thinking, we define what perfect is. And I think it’s accepting things, people in their simplicity, they are perfect as they are.

I get stuck in my thoughts and travel has given me so many perspectives that I like spending time in my mind now.

Why do I think travel did all this?

- Travel is a flow and so is life.

I remember the first solo trip I ever took, I had my whole plan marked on a tissue! And well nothing went as per the tissue and I ended up having more fun than I ever imagined. I went to Kheerganga, Manali in the Himalayas on my first trek. So now, when plans come undone in life as they so often do, I flow.

I fret less and live more.

- Travel makes you better.

I think I not only learned how to take better care of myself but of others as well. Like when I visit monasteries or any other holy places, I am sensitive to the people’s rituals there and try to connect with their beliefs and I learn so much!

I find mountains really have humbled me into a better human being. A trek to Shrikhand Mahadev Kailash in Rampur, Himachal Pradesh, India is one of the most challenging treks ever and looking back I thought for sure that it would be the death of me. And now, it just makes me feel so powerful that I did that.

I am learning to be more self-sufficient, happy, free and resourceful and grateful as I travel more and more.

You know all the cliches are cliches for a reason! Where there is a will, there is indeed a way. The best views do come after the hardest climb.

I know that everybody has such a clear idea of dos and don’ts bout everything cause’ we have set limits and boundaries. But there is so much wonder out there.

Go travel to a far off land, where it’s wintering for six long months and nothing but snow and snow for miles. You really won’t care about a lot of things, things and ideas and wants that don’t you shouldn’t have been bothering about anyways.

So that’s how I travel for therapy and lessons. And I love it.

Everybody who is in need of something new, new faces, new foods, new views, new smiles, and new thoughts must travel.

This article is originally Published in Outwittrade

--

--

Rahul Arora
Rahul Arora

MBA (Digital Marketing), He is still exploring the real world.