“Losing Lesbians”

Elliot Page isn’t confused, you’re just a TERF

Shain Slepian
Rainbow

--

Yes, I am late to the party. And yes, I still have opinions about this.

When Elliot Page came out as trans a month ago, I felt about two seconds of joy for the person I knew would suddenly be feeling a lot more confident and happy with himself due to the announcement, followed by a prolonged period of dread when I realized I had not yet been on Twitter.

I think it’s wonderful that Page came out publicly, and their statement demonstrated an understanding of the context in which they were coming out.

Though he is AFAB and (seemingly?) white, Elliot Page recognized the extreme callousness with which we regard the lives of trans women of color. His statement did not attempt to apologize for his relatively safer status as a white person who is not a woman, but instead recognized the unity he shares with some of the most vulnerable people in our population.

We’re together in this fight, and attacks on some us are a threat to all of us.

Of course, I could already think of a few people in our little LGBT community that are not willing to stand with their siblings. And they want to push Elliot back in the closet.

We all know that Trans Exclusive Radical Feminists, many of whom are lesbians who advocate for queer rights generally (with some exceptions), do not like trans women. But we…

--

--

Shain Slepian
Rainbow

Shain is a screenwriter and screenplay editor. For more content, follow their blog and check out their YouTube channel, TimeCapsule. shainslepian.com/