Lucky’s Story: One Dog’s Gift of Unconditional Love and Unrelenting Support

Aymes Sarah
Rainbow Bridge
Published in
8 min readJan 17, 2020

--

A goodbye letter to a friend, confidant, and warrior

Just a girl and her dog

How do you start a good-bye letter to someone who gave you everything you could possibly want in life? You loved me when it seemed like no one else could, cuddled me on my darkest days, and greeted me after every long workday with enthusiasm and love.

Lucky as a pup, 2 months old

I got you during an uncertain time in my life, I didn’t even want a border collie, I wanted a german shepherd or a rescue. Someone else called the shots at this point and for once, he made the right call. We named you “Lucky” because he felt lucky to be alive after going to war in Afghanistan.

You were the most beautiful puppy. You looked like a little teddy bear. You had big beautiful brown eyes and a tail that didn’t stop. In fact, I lost more glassware to that tail in your first year than I ever have. It didn’t matter, you could do no wrong. You were my little buddy.

As things in our home got more chaotic, you never let it get you down. You always stuck by my side, with your unstoppable tail. When things got to be too much, which was frequently, we would go on our drives…

--

--

Aymes Sarah
Rainbow Bridge

Aymes is a freelance writer, social media manager, and published author. She co-owns a site ( www.personalsafetyschool.com ) with safety guide and tips!