Bunni

Jk Mansi
Rainbow Bridge
Published in
2 min readAug 8, 2018

My first guru in self care.

Bunni gurl, the first week I had her. Text and photo by JkM.

My first teacher in self-care was Bunni. In 2010 she found me at a city wide animal adoption event and picked me. She was a rescue at a small shelter, the first animal I had ever adopted. This is what I learned from her: eat when you’re hungry, sleep when you’re tired, play a little every day, and get all the cuddles you need. Be still, witness without speaking, be present to the pain someone else is sharing. Be present. And learn indeed I did.

I have never had her certified as a service animal, but immediately after she came to live with me her body began to mirror the bruises that had manifested on my body from remembering. Bruises and locked muscles that had stayed unchanged for seven months. To this day she reacts with great sensitivity to folks when they are expressing any kind of trauma, standing still by their side. I always know to be wary of people she is uncomfortable being around. There is a book in the works about her life with me, told completely from her point-of-view. The first short chapter is at the end of this essay.

Then came Peeku! Short for Peek-a-Boo…just look at those eyebrows!

Peeku: all body, very little legs. Muscles and strength like you wouldn’t believe! Photo by JkM

Peeku came exactly a year later. From Peeku I learned “Hey, I’m a dog. I was on the streets since I was born till the day you found me and I picked you. Be grateful I’ve stopped hiding food behind the furniture!” Even my puppies are overcoming their early childhood trauma with me! My girls!! 😍😁

I dedicate this to all the animal spirit guides who have come into the lives of my circle of loved ones. I invite you to find your animal guide right now and give them a tummy rub, a head/shoulder/back massage, and a treat. You’ll be glad you did!!!

©JkMansi Juhi Kalra 2018. All rights reserved.

--

--

Jk Mansi
Rainbow Bridge

To know where you're going find out where you've been. I strive to be joyful. I read. I write. I’m grateful.