READING

Is There One Right Way to Teach Kids to Read?

Identifying what really works from both sides of the reading wars

Mary Gallagher
Raise a Lifelong Reader
6 min readFeb 3, 2020

--

On the go? Listen to this article!

I’ve been teaching children to read for a long time and I’ve seen curriculums come and go, “proven” supplemental reading programs fade in and out, and parents and educators waxing and waning about whether the whole language, balanced literacy, or phonic-only approach is the best way to teach a child to read.

I do not wish to weigh in on the reading wars today but you can read how Mark Thogmartin and I feel about this war in our book, Teach a Child to Read with Children’s Books. For now, I will share with you the things that do work when teaching children to read — the strategies and actions that continue to turn even the most reluctant readers into lifelong readers, despite trends and opinions about reading that may come and go.

I like to tell the parents that I work with inside my Facebook group, “You don’t…

--

--

Mary Gallagher
Raise a Lifelong Reader

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul