Explore a 504 Plan or an Individualized education plan (IEP): Part Seven The Top 10 Things I Wish I’d Known On My Child’s Mental Health Journey

Jennifer Ulie, PhD
Raising a Beautiful Mind
3 min readJan 25, 2024
Photo Credit: NATEE MEEPIAN from Natee Meepian’s Images

From a mother who never imagined her once squirrely and sweet six-year-old would face such tribulations as an adolescent, I wish to share the lessons I’ve learned, the opportunities I wish had been presented to me, and the essential navigation tips that might not have prevented our situation but would have undoubtedly eased our journey.

If you suspect even a mild concern about your child’s mental health, please hold onto this list. You might not be ready to tackle it just yet, but if you’re reading this, it means you’re aware, and awareness is the first step. As a mother who was once not ready to face these realities, I implore you to save this list.

Should you suspect your child has a disability, it’s within your rights to request an evaluation for special education services. I’m well aware of the apprehensions surrounding special education; concerns are valid, but the potential benefits can significantly alter the trajectory of our children’s educational experiences, shifting from aversion to success.

Many parents, perhaps influenced by their own less-than-positive experiences, approach special education with caution. However, just as you wouldn’t send your child to school amidst an asthma attack without the necessary medication and accommodations, it’s equally vital to address their academic and behavioral struggles with appropriate support.

Mental health and disabilities are often shrouded in stigma, a reality that can clash dramatically with the idyllic expectations we hold for our children’s lives. Coming to terms with the fact that your child’s journey might diverge from your dreams can be a process filled with grief, guilt, and shame. If you’re grappling with these emotions, know that you’re not alone.

Even with my PhD in special education, I initially resisted seeking services for my child. It wasn’t the fear of labeling or standing out that held me back, but rather a misplaced confidence in my own capabilities. In hindsight, I realize that my reluctance was more about me than my child’s needs.

If your child has a mental health diagnosis, they may be eligible for a 504 Plan. This plan can provide accommodations like extended test time, permission for breaks, or access to snacks, which can be surprisingly transformative. To initiate this process, contact the school to discuss with the 504 coordinator, often a school counselor or administrator.

During the initial meeting, express your concerns and needs to help shape the 504 Plan, which should be reviewed and updated annually. Ensure you’re informed about when and how the plan will be communicated to your child’s teachers at the start of each school year.

For children whose needs extend beyond what a 504 Plan can provide, reach out to a school administrator with your concerns. You might say, “I have concerns about my child’s social, emotional, and mental health. I suspect my child has a disability and through Child Find, I am requesting an evaluation for special education services.”

Following your request, the school will contact you to arrange a meeting and obtain written consent to begin the evaluation process, which should be completed within 60 days of your consent. After the evaluation, another meeting will discuss the findings, determine eligibility for special education services, and outline the next steps.

Over the next few weeks join me in this series where I share each of the things I wish I would have known to hopefully help someone else along their journey.

--

--

Jennifer Ulie, PhD
Raising a Beautiful Mind

2x Founder, CEO, Motivational Speaker, Author, Advocate & Geek ~all things mental health justice, helping systems & parents of children w/ mental health needs❤️