Exploring My Health Anxiety, Hypochondria and ADHD

And Whether There is a Link Between Them…

Ellie Wormleighton
Raising a Beautiful Mind
7 min readNov 3, 2023

--

Photo by Elsa Tonkinwise on Unsplash

It’s something I’ve become acutely aware of in the adult part of my life, with evermore regular visits to the doctors, to walk in centres and many trips to the emergency room. I’ve been grappling with my physical, as well as my mental health for quite some time in all honesty. It’s been hard to navigate the constant highs and lows of my own health, always left in between the daunting questions; is it real or is it my anxiety? Am I feeling very real physical symptoms or is the bias of my mind telling me it is something worse than it is?

So this week’s post shall be exploring the connection between health anxiety and ADHD. Whether we are more prone to the flaws of health anxiety for having ADHD, or if it does affect us all the same.

Us ADHDers are not a monolith after all, so take a journey with me through my health, my hypochondria, my ADHD and all in between…

When the panic attacks began

Ever since I was a child, I had issues with stomach pains. I would eat something like chocolate or have a little too much dairy, and I would be in agony the next day; so much so I would have to throw up to relieve myself of the sharp searing pain in my abdomen. As I got older, I went through the normal notions of regular colds, few flus, and I had some pretty nasty times with tonsillitis. My teens would see me through the similar symptoms of IBS, but nothing too serious as to send me to a&e. I was a pretty healthy kid all in all, if not a little sensitive with my system.

However, when I hit 20, things really started to change with my anxiety. I experienced my first panic attack in my flat with my then flat mate in the bathroom, and it changed my neural pathways forever (or so it felt). From then on, I had debilitating panic attacks. I ended up in the hospital one time because I became convinced I was having a heart attack for hours on end, and just like Tony Soprano, I was sent home with completely normal physical results.

You’d think that would be a relief, right?

But things progressed further, as I embraced major change after change in my life. My twenties, like others, have been rather tumultuous. I’ve moved a lot, I’ve emigrated abroad, I’ve lost family and friends and I’ve shed a lot of my past self-identity in the process. Times have been… distressing to say the least. But I soldiered on, thinking it was better to ‘just get on with it’ and ‘stiffen the upper lip’.

Without going too pseudo psycho analysis on myself here, I feel I have suffered in other ways with my fierce independence and lack of awareness of my inner feelings and stress through every major change, move and event. Those ways manifesting in my overall health.

‘You’re a bit of a hypochondriac’

Unfortunately, a term I have heard too many times, and yet one I take on the chin, and usually joke about self-deprecatingly as well (hey, humour helps me cope). But, in some further depth, it does still affect me in some way. Because, to me, and like many other suffering health anxieties, it feels oh so real when experiencing sickness or pain — and the mind starts to repeat evermore intensifying and fearsome thoughts.

‘What if it’s cancer and it’s too late?’ ‘Could that pain be a sign of a tumour?’ ‘Why does my stomach feel so firm all the time?’

And of course, Google becomes the arch nemesis of this debilitating cycle.

The frequent feeling of something being wrong and me not catching it, has led me to many different doctor's visits, repeat tests and a lot of distressed conversations with those nearest and dearest. And though I’m always acutely aware of what is going on within, and how it must look to outsiders, it does not seem to quell the innate worry that drums up and stirs all within my mind. Like much mental illness, it is invisible and all too difficult to articulate to others (many who, might I add, always seem to have an easy solution for you).

Suffering with this ‘affliction’ is not fun, to say the least. I’ve been in tears more times than I can count, and discussed some rather irrational thoughts with my partner about what to do when I die, and all sorts of mad stuff that come across dramatic to those listening. Though I would like to add, I did suffer with a horrid bout of long covid where that did especially feel like the reality for about six months in the last year (so not totally unwarranted).

The link between ADHD and anxiety

In my pursuit of research between the two, I have come across similar articles discussing the link between ADHD and anxiety. Though not everyone with ADHD has anxiety and vice versa, it does tend to be a common mix of the two blessing us with its presence. The data suggests that about half of ADHDers are suffering with anxiety.

Unfortunately for us, anxiety can often exacerbate ADHD symptoms causing constant worrying, feeling on edge, stress and fatigue, as well as trouble sleeping. But it really can become a question of whether it’s anxiety causing our symptoms to worsen, or if the ADHD symptoms are giving us anxiety. Remember to discuss this with your Doctor for medical advice and help.

Where does health anxiety come into it?

I did not find a definite and direct connection between health anxiety, hypochondria and ADHD; nor any studies (please feel free to contact me if you do have one) to affirm whether the negative aspects of ADHD can cause hypochondria, but I can probably theorise based off my own experience what could cause this. Take it as you will.

One of the symptoms of ADHD anxiety that I tend to suffer with, is intense ruminations and over worry of a single topic. Whether it be an event at work, the stress of moving away, family drama, and often relationships with other people. In this article, the effects of obsessive thinking and clingy behaviour are explored in an ADHDer.

“It makes sense. As adults with ADHD, we’re so often burned by our own impulsivity that we sometimes go to the opposite extreme and micro-analyze. Our minds are always on, often running laps around the same track. So it’s no wonder you find yourself drawn to thoughts.” — Beth Main.

I can only ascertain from my own experience, that like with many worries I’ve had in these rumination cycles, health becomes one of them. And in my own analysis of my experiences; I’ve lost many family members and some friends to cancer, which may have triggered a thought spiral of obsessive worrying about my own health.

Another theory I could point to also, would be these major changes in environment and the stress of not connecting with the change in the moment. My stress and worry in the big change will then manifest as something completely different; like digestion issues or constant headaches that persist during the change. This could be triggering furthermore anxiety and intensifying the thoughts in a repeat pattern.

How can we help ADHDers with health anxiety?

I speak as a present sufferer, having just made the big move back to Australia and settled into a new home up in the mountains (and with ongoing stomach issues). Please take my advice as my own, and remember to talk to a health professional above all else.

Listen first and foremost.

There is nothing worse than worrying within and being too scared or ashamed to externalise our thought cycles. Listen to your friend who needs to get out their current worries, no matter how dramatic or farfetched they may seem to you — your friend is seeking comfort and validation in this moment, and may have been in the heat of the thoughts for a while now. It can get pretty scary.

Validate and reassure.

Once you’ve heard their concerns, validate and reassure them — but do not gaslight, and do not shame. Let your friend know that you hear their worries and understand where they are coming from. You cannot resolve their current issues and anxiety, but you can seek to reassure them by lending a comforting word or two to the situation.

Softly question and lend positive support.

If the mood is right, softly question what brought them to this feeling, and how long they may have been experiencing this feeling or symptom. Assure them that many symptoms are similar and usually don’t mean something serious. Be careful how you ask — this can cause some to put their guard up further in defence.

Seek medical help.

Furthermore, encourage your friend to seek medical support or help if the health anxiety persists. It may be a case of getting a diagnosis, referring to therapy or trying medication to help with the intense feelings. Don’t be ashamed to confide in someone you trust to seek help as a continuing affliction that affects their life.

**Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional or psychologist, please seek medical help professionally if you feel you need it.**

Sources

Anxiety ADHD link

ADHD and anxiety symptoms and coping

ADHD and obsessive thoughts

This was from an article on Diamond in a Haystack, for more like this click here.

--

--

Ellie Wormleighton
Raising a Beautiful Mind

Ellie is a freelance writer. She writes about ADHD, mental health, music, gardening, writing and much more. https://www.buymeacoffee.com/eleanorwritings