You Aren’t In This Alone: Final Part The Top 10 Things I Wish I’d Known On My Child’s Mental Health Journey

Jennifer Ulie, PhD
Raising a Beautiful Mind
3 min readFeb 13, 2024
Photo Credit: digitalskillet from Getty Images

From a mother who never imagined her once squirrely and sweet six-year-old would face such tribulations as an adolescent, I wish to share the lessons I’ve learned, the opportunities I wish had been presented to me, and the essential navigation tips that might not have prevented our situation but would have undoubtedly eased our journey.

If you suspect even a mild concern about your child’s mental health, please hold onto this list. You might not be ready to tackle it just yet, but if you’re reading this, it means you’re aware, and awareness is the first step. As a mother who was once not ready to face these realities, I implore you to save this list.

You don’t have to journey through your child’s mental health challenges alone. While I may not hold all the answers, my commitment and experience in the field empower me to assist you in uncovering them. In these trying times, remember that support, understanding, and a caring community are within your reach.

At Mensana Wellness Solutions, our mission is to redefine mental wellness for individuals, families, and broader systems, backed by the latest insights in brain science and proven practices. We are here to bolster and empower you and your family on this complex journey.

Here’s how I can help:

1.Family Grants for Treatment: Understanding the financial burden that mental health or substance abuse treatment can impose, we offer assistance in applying for family grants. These grants are designed to help offset the costs associated with your child’s treatment, easing the financial strain on your family.

2. Personalized Consulting: Leverage my two decades of expertise in youth and school mental health with our personalized consulting services. Together, we’ll tailor a plan to address your child’s specific needs and guide you through the mental health landscape.

3. Raising a Beautiful Mind Podcast: Tune into our podcast, ‘Raising a Beautiful Mind,’ for insights, experiences, and expert interviews. These episodes aim to provide you with knowledge, inspiration, and the feeling of a shared journey in parenting children with mental health challenges.

4. Join the Learning Lab: The Learning Lab at Mensana Wellness Solutions is more than just a resource center; it’s a vibrant community anchored in shared understanding and support. Here, you are not just a member; you are part of a collective journey towards empowerment and wisdom. The Learning Lab stands out for its unique blend of comprehensive resources and a deeply connected community, ensuring you never feel alone in your journey.

Thank you for joining our series over these last several weeks about the Ten Things I Wish I Would Have Known on My Child’s Mental Health Journey.

--

--

Jennifer Ulie, PhD
Raising a Beautiful Mind

2x Founder, CEO, Motivational Speaker, Author, Advocate & Geek ~all things mental health justice, helping systems & parents of children w/ mental health needs❤️