Books for a Great Cause — Success!

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
5 min readNov 23, 2014

Last night I attended a fundraiser for our local animal shelter, Animal Protection Society of Durham. I went last year, and I had a great time, especially with the silent auction part of the event. Yup, I’m a sucker. I wanted to contribute something this year, if I could find something worth contributing, so I donated a set of new hardcover children’s books. Just focusing on books that would be appropriate for my daughter would have been too limiting, I thought, in terms of age range; there may be a few people looking for books for very young kids’ books, but there will likely be more looking for books for a bit older, like in the 8 and younger sort of range rather than 2 and younger. A lot of the books I chose do have animal protagonists. I found that a fitting theme considering the cause.

The books below are the ones I donated, and I’m very, VERY pleased to report that not only did the basket of books get a bid but it exceeded what I had even hoped for in terms of bids. I am greatly encouraged to do something similar next year. Maybe it’s silly, but it warmed my heart so much to see that people were actually interested in 1) books, and 2) the books that I had selected.

These are excellent books if you’re hoping to find items for readers ages 8 and younger. I would recommend them especially for 3–8, but I’ll be reading some of these to my daughter well before she’s three. She may not be able to read them on her own, but I can read them to her.

Gaston

by Kelly DiPucchio

Switched at birth, a bulldog and a poodle explore concepts of family and self-identity. Humorous and adorable!

Flight of the Honey Bee

by Raymond Huber

This book is educational and offers illustrations from uncommon angles, trying to see the world through the eyes of the bees. Offers an intriguing look into a threatened animal.

Ball

by Mary Sullivan

This book pays hilarious tribute to the relentless hopefulness of a dog with a ball. Dog owners will appreciate, and children will laugh.

A Mama for Owen by Marion Dane Bauer

Based on a true story, this is the tale of a baby hippo who is swept from his mother during a tsunami. He finds a tortoise who fills the role of his mother.

Not a Box

by Antoinette Portis

This book revels in the power of the imagination, imagining all sorts of thing that a box could be. Simply endearing.

the day the crayons quit

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

As a child, I imagined my toys having feelings that could be hurt, so this book calls to me. If your crayons had personalities, how would they behave?

icon

A Visitor for Bear

by Bonny Becker

Bear seems to like being by himself, but a mouse is determined to intrude in his life. A grouch may become glad.

Bluebird

by Bob Staake

Capturing concepts, like “loneliness” can be a daunting task, especially in a children’s book, but Bob Staake captures the beauty and emotional depth wonderfully. I loved leisurely looking through this book even without my daughter.

lost and found

Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers

When he finds a penguin whom he assumes to be lost, a little boy tries to help him return home. The journey explores what it means to be friends, even if you may not seem to have much in common.

icon

--

--