Crockpot Recipes

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
1 min readOct 25, 2014

I love having a crockpot, especially balancing work, taking care of my daughter, two dogs, and trying to stay sane. Below are links to some recipes that I recommend.

A few months ago I bought a quarter steer (yes, a quarter of a cow), so that’s why the recipes below focus on using beef. It was much cheaper to buy beef this way, and this way I knew how the animal was raised (humanely, no crazy hormone injections, etc.). The farmer had taken the cow for slaughter, and the butcher packaged and labeled all of the cuts. The farmer then delivered the 100+ pounds of meat to the freezer in my garage. I’ve been able to get cuts of meat that would be very difficult to find in the store, and I’ve been very happy with having done it. I highly recommend it if you 1) have the freezer space, and 2) know a local farmer with whom to work. Check Craigslist or talk to people at the farmers market for suggestions.

If anyone has additional recipe recommendations, I’m always looking for great ones!

5 recipes from The Simple Dollar

steak-387728_640

Beef Brisket

Beef Stew

Bottom Round Roast

Short Ribs

--

--