Easy Food Options

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
2 min readSep 6, 2014

I have become very fond of recipes and easy ways to make dinner at home without having to resort to relying on premade, processed items like frozen meals or ordering in food. Below are a couple of items that help make dinners easy and tasty.

Thai Basil Eggplant Recipe: I found a really easy recipe for Thai Basil Eggplant. After trying the recipe as it was stated, except leaving out the tofu, I found this to be a very good recipe that could be easily tweaked. Later, I made another version with chunks of beef, mushrooms, green peppers, and red onions. The Hoison sauce that the author notes as being her favorite really is good, and I highly recommend it.

beer bread

Beer Bread Mix: My in-laws are from Iowa and gave us a package of Molly & Drew’s Beer Bread over the holidays. I ordered more online because it’s so darn delightful. You just combine the mix with 12 ounces of beer (or another carbonated beverage if you prefer) and then pop it in the oven. The beer just adds flavor; the alcohol cooks out, so this is fine to serve to minors.It does take about an hour in the oven, which can be awkward some nights if you need to have something more quickly, but if you have time for it, this bread is absolutely wonderful. I tried the original mix, but there are other mixes available, too. Enjoy!

I’d like to hear what you think if you try other variations or find something else good.

--

--