Girl Power: Strong Mommy, Strong Daughter

Lauren Havens
Raising a Smart Kid
4 min readNov 16, 2017

This has been an incredible year for girl power.

Strong women conquered film in Wonder Woman. The resulting fascination by girls was a joy to witness with all of the products for sale. I had several Wonder Women knocking on my door at Halloween.

Twitter saw the rise of #metoo with women sharing personal stories of sexual assault and harassment.

Men in power have been accused and punished, at least in some cases, for having sexually harassed women even decades ago.

While I hope that this focus on females taking control of their destinies continues, I don’t know if it will maintain strength in the same way over the next few years.

I know, though, that the ideal of a strong female will continue in my household, not because I am always a strong woman but because I will aspect to that ideal; I am comfortable in my own strength, and I will aspire to be ever stronger and better. My daughter shouldn’t believe that women kowtowing to men is an acceptable normal. I have been pushed around too much in my life by small men, and how I raise my daughter will be influenced by the lessons I have learned, some at great cost.

My Girl Power Mantras

In a moment of forgiveness, I did not call the cops. I should have. I should have documented the violence he inflicted on my person. Get it on the record.

Unsure of my own worth, I put up with his nonsense for far too long. I should have left sooner. Know when to leave.

Males in power spoke with misogyny on their lips and in their eyes. I did well to find a female mentor for guidance. Proactively gather allies.

Friends, male and female, have become my brothers and sisters, supporting me when I needed them simply because they love me. It gives me joy to love, support, and shower them with love in return. Keep loving, hugging, and smiling at rainbows.

Even though I am not where I thought I would be at this point in my life, that’s okay. I can survive anything and find joy wherever I am. Adventure is everywhere.

#girlpower

I am tired of small, weak men trying to push me around. Strong on my own, in my own person, I will continue to be strong for myself because I want to be smarter and better in all kinds of ways that give me personal satisfaction and joy. I am a strong woman, and I will fight for my daughter and be very active in her life so that she also becomes a strong woman. She deserves to know her father, but she deserves better than to have only him.

Girl Power Reading

Be a star, wonder woman

Be a Star, Wonder Woman! by Michael Dahl

You can be a Wonder Woman at any age and in any setting. This books shows how a little girl is like Wonder Woman just by going to school and how she interacts with her classmates.

Ada Twist, Scientist

Ada Twist, Scientist by Andre Beaty

A little girl is fascinated trying to figure all sorts of things out. Her determination and curiosity are commendable, but also watch how awesome her parents are, reacting one way at first and then softening their approach for the sake of their daughter.

The Most Magnificent Thing

The Most Magnificent Thing by Ashley Spires

A little girl and her dog build a fascinating thing. It isn’t the thing she tries to build at first, but she figures out that it’s even better!

Ada Lovelace: poet of science

Ada Lovelace: poet of science by Diane Stanley

Ada Lovelace is considered to be the first computer programmer. Excelling at math at a time when women weren’t supposed to dive into such fields, she made a lot of people uncomfortable. Strengthen your talents, and don’t worry about the haters.

I Am Malala

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

Just a young girl, she’s already a Nobel Peace Prize winner and activist. This is a readable account for young adults.

--

--